Tulip Media

Entrepreneurial thoughts

Social Media Trends and digital innovations after 2014

What practices will occupy the social space in 2014? Which digital innovations will create a buzz? Which social networks are on the rise? Like every year, everyone has their own prediction. Here is a medley of what was said on the subject!

[info]Note: This chapter is the 10th in a series of course on Social Media, the summary of which can be found here.[/info]

As a reminder, the key figures for social media in 2013, by the Socialnomics agency, customary of the genre:

What awaits us in 2014? Here is a potpourri of everything that is said on the web…

 

The explosion of ephemeral or short content

Snapchat, a newcomer to the world of social networks in 2013, shook things up and launched the fashion for ephemeral content. And short content, already democratized by Instagram or Vine, will continue its momentum. The challenge will be to deliver the most impactful message while taking as little time as possible.

 

The arrival of new social networks such as Pheed and Line

 

The emergence of Google+

Until now, Google+ had two strategies, besides the importance of +1 in SEO:

– The transition in force: via the creation of G+ profiles for all those who had a Google account, the end of anonymity, and the famous “All Google with a single account”. Even if it means irritating YouTube video commentators.

– The emergence of a community of experts, technophiles, coders, journalists on its Google+ network. Via the “authorship” function in particular, Google has attracted opinion leaders, who have more freedom than on Twitter, network more than on Facebook (considered too personal) and on a more user-friendly platform than LinkedIn (too careerist) .

Slowly but surely, Google+ is tending to establish itself as a real social network in its own right, and if Google admitted to having missed the turn of social networks, it has only stepped back to better jump.

 

Video advertising everywhere

Video advertising has already taken over the Internet. In pre-roll, interstitial, via viral videos integrated into the content… It seems that 2014 will be even more intense, even if it means irritating the user. Beware of overflows! Internet must not become Wat !

 

The omnipresent mobile

For businesses, mobile is no longer a surplus, it is an obligation. The share of mobile Internet users has exploded, and brands must be accessible easily and quickly on mobile, via a dedicated site or responsive design that is not too cumbersome.

horaires-d-utilisation-different-selon-les-devices

The user experience must be optimized, and information must be transmitted with the tap of a finger.

 

Brand content ever more present

To exist on the social web, brands have themselves become media that must produce their own content. Brand content and native advertising will therefore continue to move forward in 2014.

 

Real time as a unit of measurement

No offense to Facebook and its timeline worthy of an extinct volcano, the standard is now real time. Connection to certain social networks (especially via mobile) is sometimes done several times a day, and the user wants new information each time they connect. Brands must therefore be able to offer content based on what is currently happening, in the hour. The example of success of the famous Oreo tweet during the superbowl final is speaking.

 

Innovation through live performance

With major sporting events to come, some channels are planning some innovations for live broadcasts. Phil Fearnley of the BBC, for example, wants to reinvent live, by offering multiplexes on the Internet which would allow Internet users to move from one event to another easily. Streaming, live blogging and social TV (TF1 in pole position) are all practices that will continue to explode in 2014.

 

The image, still one of the most impactful formats

If text must not disappear, images are the simplest format for communicating, and which can produce the greatest benefits. It does not require great resources, and it allows you to send a simple, concise and shareable message. The advent of animated GIFs should also be taken into consideration.

 

Learn to measure your presence

If until now, everyone was groping at the level of incremental innovation, 2014 should start to standardize things. The party is over: we will have to be accountable, by measuring the real impact of social campaigns, by rationalizing the brand's presence on social networks, and by estimating the ROI. In order to refine campaigns and make them more effective and less costly.

 

Improving Internet Comments

With the end of anonymity, particularly on Google+, and the emphasis on the most quality comments, discussion on the web should improve. The hunt for trolls and haters will involve a homogenization of discussion spaces (Disqus), an online reputation based on badges or points, and little by little the end of anonymity (even if Disqus is against it).

 

Niche social networks

Niche social networks allow Internet users to join a community based on their profession or center of interest in order to share with it. Advertising on such networks is very interesting for advertisers since it is of course much more targeted. It will therefore be necessary to monitor niche networks.

 

Snapchat: the arrival of stories

Photos or videos viewable 24 hours by all of its contacts, which allows brands to work on their speaking engagements.

 

And to go deeper, here is Vanksen's excellent study on the subject :

Bringr’s incomparable study:

JDN's opinion, the focus on mobile social networks to follow in 2014 by Le Bilan, And Talkwalker infographic which emphasizes internal organization 2.0.

[notice]Chapter 11: Bad buzz and crisis communication with the Dior / John Galliano case »[/notice][success]“Chapter 9: Navel gazing on social networks[/success]

 

My latest tweets

New shorts on Blooness 👉 Training dedicated to the best oilseeds for health is finally available in audio format https://buff.ly/3xo9fTS
https://buff.ly/43DkrYR

New shorts on Blooness 👉 If there was only one supplement to take, it would be magnesium (along with vitamin D). The complete guide to the best multivitamins on the market still available here with free access https://buff.ly/49bHqvp
https://buff.ly/49c3rKK

New shorts on Blooness 👉 The latest Blooness training on #proteins is available in audio format https://buff.ly/4aijbMW
https://buff.ly/3TP67cB

Load more

Don't miss business advice by email

No spam, just an email when new content is published.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEN

Tendances Social Media et innovations digitales après 2014

Quelles pratiques vont occuper l’espace social en 2014 ? Quelles innovations digitales vont faire le buzz ? Quels sont les réseaux sociaux qui grimpent ? Comme chaque année, chacun y va de sa prédiction. Voici un pot-pourri de ce qui s’est dit sur le sujet !

[info]Note : Ce chapitre est le 10è d’une série de cours sur le Social Media, dont le sommaire se trouve ici.[/info]

Pour rappel, les chiffres-clés des médias sociaux en 2013, par l’agence Socialnomics, coutumière du genre :

Qu’est-ce qui nous attend en 2014 ? Voici un pot-pourri de tout ce qui se dit sur le web…

 

L’explosion des contenus éphémères ou courts

Snapchat, nouveau venu dans le milieu des réseaux sociaux en 2013, a bouleversé la donne, et a lancé la mode du contenu éphémère. Et le contenu court, déjà démocratisé par Instagram ou Vine, va continuer sur sa lancée. L’enjeu sera de délivrer le message le plus impactant en prenant le moins de temps possible.

 

L’arrivée de nouveaux réseaux sociaux tels que Pheed et Line

 

L’émergence de Google+

Jusqu’ici, Google+ avait deux stratégies, outre l’importance du +1 dans le SEO :

– Le passage en force : via la création de profils G+ pour tous ceux qui possédaient un compte Google, la fin de l’anonymat, et le fameux « Tout Google avec un seul compte ». Quitte à irriter les commentateurs de vidéos sur Youtube.

– L’émergence d’une communauté d’experts, de technophiles, de codeurs, de journalistes sur son réseau Google+. Via la fonction « d’authorship » notamment, Google a attiré les leaders d’opinion, qui ont plus de liberté que sur Twitter, réseautent plus que sur Facebook (jugé trop perso) et sur une plateforme plus conviviale que LinkedIn (trop carriériste).

Lentement mais surement, Google+ tend donc à s’imposer comme un vrai réseau social à part entière, et si Google a reconnu avoir manqué le virage des réseaux sociaux, il n’a fait que reculer pour mieux sauter.

 

De la publicité vidéo partout

La publicité vidéo a déjà envahi l’Internet. En pré-roll, en interstitiel, via des vidéos virales intégrées dans le contenu… Il semble que 2014 sera encore plus intense, quitte à irriter l’utilisateur. Gare aux débordements ! Internet ne doit pas devenir Wat !

 

Le mobile omniprésent

Pour les entreprises, le mobile n’est plus un surplus, c’est une obligation. La part des internautes en mobilité a explosé, et les marques doivent être accessibles facilement et rapidement sur mobile, via un site dédié ou en responsive design qui ne soit pas trop lourd.

horaires-d-utilisation-different-selon-les-devices

L’expérience utilisateur doit être optimisée, et l’information doit être transmise en un tapotement de doigt.

 

Le brand content toujours plus présent

Pour exister sur le web social les marques sont devenues elles-même des médias devant produire leur propre contenu. Le brand content et le native advertising vont donc continuer de poursuivre le bonhomme de chemin en 2014.

 

Le temps réel comme unité de mesure

N’en déplaise à Facebook et à sa timeline digne d’un volcan éteint, la norme est désormais le temps réel. La connexion à certains réseaux sociaux (notamment via le mobile) se fait parfois plusieurs fois par jour, et l’utilisateur veut de nouvelles informations à chaque connexion. Les marques doivent donc être capables de proposer du contenu en fonction de ce qu’il se passe actuellement, dans l’heure. L’exemple du succès du fameux tweet d’Oreo pendant la finale du superbowl est parlant.

 

L’innovation par le live

Avec les grands événements sportifs à venir, certaines chaînes prévoient quelques innovations pour les live. Phil Fearnley de la BBC, par exemple, veut réinventer le live, en proposant des multiplex sur Internet qui permettraient à l’internaute de passer d’une épreuve à l’autre facilement. Le streaming, le live-blogging et la social TV (TF1 en pole position) sont autant de pratiques qui vont continuer d’exploser en 2014.

 

L’image, toujours l’un des formats les plus impactants

Si le texte ne doit pas disparaître, l’image est le format le plus simple pour communiquer, et qui peut produire les plus gros bénéfices. Elle ne demande pas de grands moyens, et elle permet d’envoyer un message simple, concis et partageable à souhait. L’avènement des GIFs animés est également à prendre en considération.

 

Apprendre à mesurer sa présence

Si jusqu’ici, tout le monde y allait à tâtons, au niveau de l’innovation incrémentale, 2014 devrait commencer à normer les choses. La fête est terminée : il va falloir rendre des comptes, en mesurant l’impact réel des campagnes sociales, en rationalisant la présence de la marque sur les réseaux sociaux, et en estimant le ROI. De manière à affiner les campagnes et à les rendre plus efficaces et moins coûteuses.

 

L’amélioration des commentaires sur Internet

Avec la fin de l’anonymat, notamment sur Google+, et la mise en avant des commentaires les plus qualis, la discussion sur le web devrait s’améliorer. La chasse aux trolls et aux haters passera par une homogénéisation des espaces de discussions (Disqus), une réputation online sur la base de badges ou de points, et petit à petit la fin de l’anonymat (même si Disqus est contre).

 

Les réseaux sociaux de niche

Les réseaux sociaux de niche permettent aux internautes d’intégrer une communauté en fonction de leur profession ou centre d’intérêts pour pouvoir partager avec celle-ci. La publicité sur de tels réseaux est très intéressante pour les annonceurs puisqu’elle est bien entendue beaucoup plus ciblée. Il faudra donc surveiller les réseaux de niche.

 

Snapchat : l’arrivée des stories

Des photos ou vidéos consultables 24 heures par l’ensemble de ses contacts, ce qui permet aux marques de travailler leur prise de parole.

 

Et pour approfondir, voici l’excellente étude de Vanksen sur le sujet :

L’inégalable étude de Bringr :

L’avis du JDN, le focus sur les réseaux sociaux mobiles à suivre en 2014 par Le Bilan, et l’infographie de Talkwalker qui met l’accent sur l’organisation 2.0 interne.

[notice]Chapitre 11 : Bad buzz et communication de crise avec le cas Dior / John Galliano »[/notice][success]« Chapitre 9 : Du nombrilisme des réseaux sociaux[/success]

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.