Tulip Media

Entrepreneurial thoughts

Why Entrepreneurs Should Learn to Code

Note: This chapter initially published in 2012 and republished in 2023 is the 5th in a series of course on Management 2.0, the summary of which can be found here.

The question raised, which has already bothered a good number of web entrepreneurs, is the following:

Do you have to be a programming expert to launch your start-up? Or can we completely delegate the technical part to developers?

Many budding entrepreneurs do not come from engineering schools or have not had the opportunity to learn programming, design or outsourcing as a self-taught person. They can be very good salespeople, competent managers, visionaries or talented strategists, but still have no knowledge of programming.

Therefore, to meet technical needs, several solutions are available to them, including subcontracting, hiring web developers and graphic designers, or even research of associates programmers or graphic designers. Indeed, it is no longer a secret for anyone, in today's digital economy, code is king.

In the new Internet economy, code is king.

However, if programming skills are not essential for an entrepreneur if he is well supported, the fact remains that knowledge of technical bases, PHP, Python, CSS or outsourcing constitutes a key asset for a business manager. Indeed, mastering a few basics in terms of web development, at least a few basics, has several advantages, including:

– Better mastering technical issues, knowing their limits and prospects for development.
– Speak the same language as engineers, which allows us to write more understandable deliverables for them. This reduces misunderstandings.
– Implement small modules yourself without having to take time from engineers for minor work. Example: create a showcase site, customize widgets, manage a WordPress blog, open an e-commerce store, etc.
– Imagine new modules, evaluate costs, constraints, and technical feasibility.

It is not a question of becoming an expert in programming, although nothing prevents you from doing so, but of mastering the basics, the issues, in order to carry out your business successfully, to understand developers, to be understood by them, and above all to be respected by the technical teams, who will tend to follow a leader who knows the technical issues than a manager who only knows the commercial and managerial part.

This logic is applicable to any other domain. Let's take the hotel industry for example, and imagine that you want to invest in a restaurant. Understanding the issues related to financing, knowing how to read a balance sheet, knowing the rules of social or company law, are all assets that will make you a competent businessman. But having a strong interest in gastronomy, knowing how to cook and dose a particular dish so that it fits the menu that you wish to offer to customers, without necessarily being a starred chef, will first allow you to better design your strategy and your product offering, and also to build greater credibility in the eyes of your employees and your customers. For the web, it's the same principle!

Conclusion: learning to code will make you a better entrepreneur, even if you don't aim to become an expert!

So if you have some free time, don't hesitate to give it a try, it won't be wasted time, and it will even allow you to exercise your brain 😉

Chapter 6: Statistics and surveys as a barrier to innovation »

« Chapter 4: SME / VSE, the 5 phases of creating your website

 

My latest tweets

New shorts on Blooness 👉 Training dedicated to the best oilseeds for health is finally available in audio format https://buff.ly/3xo9fTS
https://buff.ly/43DkrYR

New shorts on Blooness 👉 If there was only one supplement to take, it would be magnesium (along with vitamin D). The complete guide to the best multivitamins on the market still available here with free access https://buff.ly/49bHqvp
https://buff.ly/49c3rKK

New shorts on Blooness 👉 The latest Blooness training on #proteins is available in audio format https://buff.ly/4aijbMW
https://buff.ly/3TP67cB

Load more

Don't miss business advice by email

No spam, just an email when new content is published.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEN

Tulipe Media

Réflexions entrepreneuriales

Pourquoi les entrepreneurs devraient apprendre à coder

Note : Ce chapitre initialement publié en 2012 et republié en 2023 est le 5è d’une série de cours sur le Management 2.0, dont le sommaire se trouve ici.

La question soulevée, qui a déjà taraudée un bon nombre d’entrepreneurs du web, est la suivante :

Faut-il être un expert en programmation pour lancer sa start-up ? Ou est-ce que l’on peut déléguer totalement la partie technique à des développeurs ?

Beaucoup d’entrepreneurs en herbe ne sont pas issus d’écoles d’ingénieurs ou n’ont pas eu l’occasion d’apprendre la programmation, le design ou l’infogérance en tant qu’autodidacte. Ils peuvent être de très bons commerciaux, des managers compétents, des visionnaires ou des stratèges talentueux, mais n’ont pour autant pas de connaissances en programmation.

Dès lors, pour répondre aux besoins techniques, plusieurs solutions s’offrent à eux, parmi lesquelles la sous-traitance, l’embauche de développeurs web et de graphistes, ou encore la recherche d’associés programmeurs ou graphistes. En effet, ce n’est plus un secret pour personne, dans l’économie numérique actuelle, le code est roi.

In the new Internet economy, code is king.

Néanmoins, si des compétences en programmation pour un entrepreneur ne sont pas indispensables si celui-ci est bien entouré, il n’en reste pas moins que la connaissance des bases techniques, de PHP, Python, du CSS ou de l’infogérance constitue un atout phare pour un dirigeant d’entreprise. En effet, le fait maîtriser quelques bases en termes de développement web, au moins quelques bases, présente plusieurs avantages, parmi lesquels :

– Le fait de mieux dompter les problématiques techniques, d’en connaître les limites et les perspectives d’évolution.
– Parler le même langage que les ingénieurs, ce qui permet de leur rédiger des livrables plus compréhensibles. Cela réduit les malentendus.
– Implémenter soi-même des petits modules sans avoir à prendre du temps sur les ingénieurs pour des travaux bénins. Exemple : créer un site vitrine, personnaliser des widgets, gérer un blog WordPress, ouvrir une boutique e-commerce, etc…
– Imaginer de nouveaux modules, évaluer les coûts, les contraintes, et la faisabilité sur le plan technique.

Il ne s’agit pas de devenir un expert en programmation, bien que rien ne vous y empêche, mais d’en maîtriser les bases, les enjeux, afin de mener à bien votre business, de comprendre les développeurs, d’être compris par eux, et surtout d’être respecté par les équipes techniques, qui auront tendance à suivre un leader qui connait les enjeux techniques qu’un dirigeant qui ne connait que la partie commerciale et managériale.

Cette logique est applicable à n’importe quel autre domaine. Prenons l’exemple de l’hôtellerie par exemple, et imaginons que vous souhaitiez investir dans un restaurant. Comprendre les problématiques liées au financement, savoir lire un bilan, connaître les règles du droit social ou des sociétés, sont autant d’atouts qui feront de vous un homme d’affaires compétent. Mais avoir un attrait marqué pour la gastronomie, savoir comment cuisiner et doser tel ou tel met afin qu’il colle à la carte que vous souhaitez proposer aux clients, sans pour autant être un chef étoilé, vous permettront d’abord de mieux concevoir votre stratégie et votre offre de produits, et aussi de bâtir une plus grande crédibilité aux yeux de vos collaborateurs et de votre clientèle. Pour le web, c’est le même principe !

Conclusion : apprendre à coder fera de vous un meilleur entrepreneur, même si vous n’avez pas vocation à devenir un expert !

Alors si vous avez un peu de temps libre, n’hésitez pas à vous y mettre, ça ne sera pas du temps perdu, et ça vous permettra même de faire travailler vos méninges 😉

Chapitre 6 : Statistiques et sondages comme frein à l’innovation »

« Chapitre 4 : PME / TPE, les 5 phases de la création de votre site web

 

Mes derniers tweets

Nouveau short sur Blooness 👉 En privilégiant des accompagnements glucidiques fibreux, on diminue le risque de résistance à l’insuline à long terme et donc des problèmes de santé.
https://buff.ly/3OyD4a3

Nouveau short sur Blooness 👉 En privilégiant des accompagnements glucidiques fibreux, on diminue le risque de résistance à l’insuline à long terme et donc des problèmes de santé.
https://buff.ly/48gf3vw

Nouveau short sur Blooness 👉 En privilégiant des accompagnements glucidiques fibreux, on diminue le risque de résistance à l’insuline à long terme et donc des problèmes de santé.
https://buff.ly/489NOmw

Charger plus

Ne manquez pas les conseils business par mail

Pas de spam, juste un mail lorsqu'un nouveau contenu est publié.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

fr_FRFR