Tulip Media

Entrepreneurial thoughts

Brand trends: authenticity, this new universal

Advertising, communication, strategy: what if authenticity and a return to roots were the new battlehorse for brands?

Remember.

In 2012, I told you about my feelings about the trend of navel-gazing and ego-tripping on social networks.

A fashion that was a veritable tidal wave, through which everyone began to tell their own life stories through social networks and their smartphones, relaying dialogue and exchange, both free and interested, to second plan.

A vein therefore over-exploited by brands, starting with applications such as Snapchat and Instagram, which have done everything to ensure that the user is as starified as possible.

Today, accompanying this movement of exacerbated individualization, it is a safe bet that a new trend is emerging.

In light of the perceived destruction of nations and globalization, and in a more or less orchestrated movement back to basics, consumers will probably need benchmarks and differentiation.

After the standardization of morals, food and fashion, the time will come to self-affirmation, bringing certain local customs up to date, and an assumed promotion of authenticity, whatever it is, wherever it comes from.

Now all the city centers in France are the same
The same fucking Fnac, Mc Do, Foot Locker, Célio, Zara, H&M.

Orelsan, Change

Tired of finding the same products in Paris, Bordeaux or Brussels, consumers will have every reason to demand originality and authenticity. And some brands have understood this well.

 

The search for the inimitable Self

I take away all hope from you on this side: the ego-trip is there and is not likely to disappear for the moment. And in this desire to shine through image and appearance, the Self becomes King. And who says Me and King, says uniqueness and singularity.

This quest for singularity should thus promote originality, authenticity and quality, whether in the chosen clothing style, the adoption of certain practices, the use of certain tools, and consumption in general.

Whether in the world of advertising, communication or fashion: authenticity has already begun to be the new trademark of brands.

 

The desire to be integrated into communities

At a time when we live in an ultra-connected world, it is difficult to live like a hermit. The inimitable self is therefore not incompatible with integration into communities. And it will indeed be about communities in the plural, where the individual will move from one to the other without complexes and without attachments. Self-satisfaction comes first.

The individual can then embrace the codes of one or the other community, and quickly change mood and consumption patterns. The agent will then become very volatile, and building loyalty will require ultra-functional and fast solutions, promotions, premium support and… strong positioning! Which then passes through the authentic and the original.

 

The return of nationalism...

Whether we are for or against, we cannot deny the return to power of nationalisms. Many countries around the world have seen the emergence of far-right governments or governments allied with the far-right.

These movements, which constitute a reaction to globalization which has left its mark with more or less success, are attached to a return to borders, to sovereignty, to national identity, and to less “progressive” values on the societal level.

Do the victories won by these political movements have any influence on the consumption patterns of agents? Nothing is less sure. However, there is an ambivalence that is worth highlighting…

In the minds of globalists, each country would only be a passage, a “hotel” in which we would set foot temporarily.

In this ultra-globalized context, cities and cosmopolitan megacities have become direct competitors of States. Even if it means replacing national culture with an urban cosmopolitan culture, shaped by various influences.

Haven't you noticed this trend on social networks to claim several cities (NYC, Paris, Dubai, etc.), rather than one origin?

However, this multicultural, urban way of thinking, detached from its roots, goes completely against the current trend which is characterized by a return to the sources, by “made in France”, and by the growing rejection of major global brands.

However, the ambivalence lies in the fact that this return to basics is accompanied by a celebration of multiculturalism; designers, for example, today use clothes and fabrics typical of certain peoples of the world to mix them with others in fashion shows highlighting the historical beauty of the authentic.

We then sell the original in a universalist gloubi boulga, in accordance with the globalist spirit of big cities.

…recovered by its opposite: liberal globalism!

If there is no doubt about the rejection of globalism, it is a safe bet that in the end, large companies, starting with GAFA, industrial groups, large textile brands, the agri-food industry, exploit this fashion of returning to local, ancestral and tangible consumption.

These will therefore be the most universal brands, those with the greatest economies of scale, those that crush everything in their path, who will sell authenticity to consumers who were looking for local, ethical, organic, environmentally friendly, qualitative, original and authentic alternatives.

 

 

What conclusions can be drawn ?

Whether you are an entrepreneur or a manager, I invite you to think about this trend and to act upstream in your activities and your business.

In the world of fashion

We will give pride of place to new innovative, ethical and health-safe fabrics.

On the web and in the service sector

We will witness the advent of the hyper-local : after having chased away local artisans, bakers and other cheese makers, consumers will demand them again.

In the franchise universe

it will be necessary to consider highlighting the “artisan” and “independent” side of the franchisee, and to attenuate as much as possible the image of the large capitalist and financial group which oppresses the independent.

In the food

A real return to ancestral and authentic cuisines is already taking place. In my opinion, the next ones to suffer the most will be sushi restaurants, whose market is already completely saturated, premium burgers, which will have an image of unhealthy, hybrid food originating from globalized New York snobbery, as well as junk food. .

Will be honored regional cuisines, Italian cuisine – which is in full swing – authentic Asian cuisines, Mediterranean cuisine and obviously vegetarian and paleolithic cuisine.

 

Conclusion: base your communication on authenticity!

The promotion of authenticity as a value and commercial argument will, in my opinion, flood the market. It will therefore be necessary adapt your products and your story-telling so as not to hit the wave in the face.

And you what do you think ? Does this trend give you ideas for projects to undertake?

 

My latest tweets

New shorts on Blooness 👉 A little liver, oysters, seafood every week. Otherwise, vitamin and mineral supplements.
https://buff.ly/48uaIoN

New shorts on Blooness 👉 We don't suspect how increasing protein and fat intake can reveal radiant beauty and improve physical appearance. Visit https://buff.ly/49FGct2 to learn how
https://buff.ly/49oNpOl

New shorts on Blooness 👉 Secret hack to boost energy and lose weight: consume the protein/fat duo until satiety without an apothecary calorie calculation, then occasionally do a fast or a small deficit. Appointment on bl
https://buff.ly/49oMRbf

Load more

Don't miss business advice by email

No spam, just an email when new content is published.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEN

Tendances des marques : l’authentique, ce nouvel universel

Publicité, communication, stratégie : et si l’authenticité et le retour aux racines étaient le nouveau cheval de bataille des marques ?

Souvenez-vous.

En 2012, je vous racontais mon ressenti quant à la tendance du nombrilisme et de l’égo-trip sur les réseaux sociaux.

Une mode qui fut un véritable raz-de-marée, par laquelle chacun s’est mis à raconter sa propre vie au travers des réseaux sociaux et de son smartphone, relayant le dialogue et l’échange, aussi bien gratuit qu’intéressé, au second plan.

Un filon dès lors sur-exploité par les marques, à commencer par des applications telles que Snapchat et Instagram, qui ont tout fait pour que l’utilisateur soit starifié au maximum.

Aujourd’hui, accompagnant ce mouvement d’individualisation exacerbée, il y a fort à parier qu’une nouvelle tendance est en train d’éclore.

A l’aune de la destruction ressentie des nations et de la mondialisation, et dans un mouvement de retour aux sources plus ou moins orchestré, les consommateurs auront probablement besoin de repères et de différenciation.

Après la standardisation des mœurs, de la nourriture et de la mode, viendra le temps de l’affirmation de soi, de la remise au goût du jour de certaines coutumes locales, et d’une promotion assumée d’authenticité, quelle qu’elle soit, d’où qu’elle vienne.

Maintenant tous les centres-villes de France c’est les mêmes
Les mêmes putains d’Fnac, Mc Do, Foot Locker, Célio, Zara, H&M.

Orelsan, Changement

Lassés de retrouver les mêmes produits à Paris, Bordeaux ou Bruxelles, le consommateur aura toutes les raisons de réclamer de l’originalité et de l’authenticité. Et ça, certaines marques l’ont bien compris.

 

La recherche du Moi inimitable

Je vous ôte tout espoir de ce côté-là : l’égo-trip est bien là et ne risque pas de disparaître pour le moment. Et dans cette envie de briller par l’image et l’apparence, le Moi devient Roi. Et qui dit Moi et Roi, dit unicité et singularité.

Cette quête de la singularité devrait ainsi faire la promotion de l’originalité, l’authenticité et la qualité, qu’elle soit dans le style vestimentaire choisi, l’adoption de certaines pratiques, l’utilisation de certains outils, et la consommation en général.

Que ce soit dans l’univers de la publicité, de la communication ou de la mode : l’authenticité a déjà commencé à être la nouvelle marque de fabrique des enseignes.

 

De la volonté d’être intégré dans des communautés

A l’heure où nous vivons dans un monde ultra-connecté, difficile de vivre en ermite. Le moi inimitable n’est donc pas incompatible avec l’intégration dans des communautés. Et il s’agira bien de communautés au pluriel, où l’individu passera de l’une à l’autre sans complexes, et sans attaches. La satisfaction du Moi passe avant tout.

L’individu pourra alors embrasser les codes de l’une ou de l’autre communauté, et changer rapidement d’humeur et de modes de consommation. L’agent deviendra alors très volatile, et le fidéliser devra passer par des solutions ultra-fonctionnelles et rapides, des promotions, un support premium et… un positionnement fort ! Qui passe alors par l’authentique et l’originel.

 

Le retour du nationalisme…

Que l’on soit pour ou contre, on ne peut nier le retour au pouvoir des nationalismes. De nombreux pays dans le monde ont vu émerger des gouvernements d’extrême-droite ou alliés avec l’extrême-droite.

Ces mouvements, qui constituent une réaction à la mondialisation qui a marqué les esprits avec plus ou moins de succès, s’attachent à un retour aux frontières, au souverainisme, à l’identité nationale, et à des valeurs moins « progressistes » sur le plan sociétal.

Les victoires emportées par ces mouvements politiques ont-elles pour autant de l’influence sur le mode de consommation des agents ? Rien n’est moins sûr. Toutefois, il y a une ambivalence qui vaut la peine d’être mise en lumière…

Dans l’esprit des mondialistes, chaque pays ne serait qu’un passage, un « hôtel » dans lequel on poserait les pieds temporairement.

Dans ce contexte ultra-globalisé, les villes et les mégalopoles cosmopolites sont devenues des concurrentes directes des Etats. Quitte à remplacer la culture nationale par une culture cosmopolite urbaine, façonnée par diverses influences.

N’avez-vous pas remarqué cette tendance sur les réseaux sociaux à se réclamer de plusieurs villes (NYC, Paris, Dubai…), plutôt que d’une origine ?

Or, ce mode de pensée multiculturel, urbain et détaché des racines, va totalement à l’encontre de la tendance actuelle qui se caractérise par un retour aux sources, par le  « made in France », et par le rejet croissant des grandes enseignes mondiales.

Toutefois, l’ambivalence réside dans le fait que ce retour aux sources s’accompagne d’une célébration du multiculturalisme ; les créateurs, par exemple, utilisent aujourd’hui des vêtements et tissus typiques de certains peuples du monde pour les mélanger avec d’autres dans des défilés mettant à l’honneur la beauté historique de l’authentique.

On vend alors l’originel dans un gloubi boulga universaliste, en accord avec l’esprit mondialiste des grandes villes.

…récupéré par son contraire : le mondialisme libéral !

Si le rejet du mondialisme ne fait pas de doute, il y a fort à parier qu’au bout du compte, les grandes entreprises, à commencer par les GAFA, les groupes industriels, les grandes enseignes textiles, l’agro-alimentaire, exploitent cette mode du retour à la consommation locale, ancestrale et tangible.

Ce seront donc les marques les plus universelles, celles avec les économies d’échelle les plus importantes, celles qui écrasent tout sur leur passage, qui vendront l’authenticité aux consommateurs qui recherchaient des alternatives locales, éthiques, bio, respectueuses de l’environnement, qualitatives, originales et authentiques.

 

 

Quelles conclusions en tirer ?

Que vous soyez entrepreneur ou manager, je vous invite à réfléchir sur cette tendance et à agir en amont dans vos activités et votre business.

Dans l’univers de la mode

On fera la part belle à de nouveaux tissus innovants, éthiques et sans danger pour la santé.

Sur le web et dans le secteur des services

Nous assisterons à l’avènement de l’hypra-local : après avoir chassé les artisans, les boulangers et autres fromagers du coin, les consommateurs les réclameront à nouveau.

Dans l’univers de la franchise

il faudra envisager de mettre en avant le côté « artisan » et « indépendant » du franchisé, et atténuer au maximum l’image du grand groupe capitaliste et financier qui oppresse l’indépendant.

Dans la food

Un véritable retour aux cuisines ancestrales et authentiques est déjà en train de s’opérer. Selon moi, les prochains à souffrir le plus seront les restaurants de sushis, dont le marché est déjà complètement saturé, les burgers premium, qui auront une image de nourriture malsaine, hybride et originaire du snobisme new-yorkais mondialisé, ainsi que la junk food.

Seront mises à l’honneur les cuisines régionales, la cuisine italienne – qui est en plein re-boom – les cuisines asiatiques authentiques, la cuisine méditerranéenne et évidemment la cuisine végétarienne et paléolithique.

 

Conclusion : basez votre communication sur l’authenticité !

La promotion de l’authentique en tant que valeur et argument commercial va selon moi inonder le marché. Il faudra donc adapter ses produits et son story-telling pour ne pas prendre la vague en pleine face.

Et vous, qu’en pensez-vous ? Est-ce que cette tendance vous donne des idées de projets à entreprendre ?

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.