Tulip Media

Entrepreneurial thoughts

How to get rid of SPAM on WordPress

Hello everyone!

I hope you are well 🙂 I am taking the trouble to write this post in order to propose my ideal combo for fight against spam on WordPress and BuddyPress.

Indeed, spam is one of the scourges of the web, and particularly in the WordPress world. Between the cascade of spammer registrations and the abundance of unwanted comments, it's easy to go crazy.

This is particularly true in the case of social networks under BuddyPress. As long as you want something modern, where the Internet user can register and start using your social network without waiting for your approval, your site quickly risks being invaded by spammers.

Unfortunately, there is no miracle solution, but I will show you which extensions I use simultaneously to limit caseability. If you have other ideas or extensions to suggest, don’t hesitate to comment… in the comments 🙂

The basics: install Akismet

Akismet is the base of the base. This is the most popular anti-spam plugin, and once activated, it will allow you to automatically spam all spammer comments.

Akismet Spam Protection

The plugin is free for non-commercial sites. On the other hand, it becomes paying for for-profit sites. As such, Akismet has already removed API access to some of my sites because there were advertisements on these sites. In this case, what I advise you is to checkout, because this plugin is one of the most effective to avoid being overwhelmed with spam in the comments.

Plus, it's natively integrated with other popular plugins like Gravity Forms, Jetpack, and Contact Form 7.

 

Blacklist Updater: the in-house anti-spam to pair with the big guys

The concept of Blacklist Updater is completely different from other anti-spam plugins. This plugin actually allows you to update the famous blacklist of comments that can be filled manually in the WordPress “Discussions” settings page: wp-admin/options-discussion.php

Block List Updater

So, instead of filling this blacklist yourself with your own ideas of banned words, the Blacklist Updater plugin takes care of everything by automatically filling in all the known and less known terms that it is better to blacklist because they are often used by spammers.

It is a plugin to pair with automatic and traditional antispams like Akismet.

 

Stop Spammers: the ultimate anti-spam layer

Stop Spammer monitors and records both IP, email and user ID. He turns to StopForumSpam, Honeypot, Akismet and BotScout to cross-check information.

Stop Spammer also identifies anomalies such as disposable email addresses or the absence of an HTTP ACCEPT header. In addition, Stop Spammer is able to refuse post-form data that is missing an HTTP REFERER header, a mistake that spammers regularly make.

Stop Spammers Security | Block Spam Users, Comments, Forms

On one of my sites running BuddyPress, Stop Spammers completely fixed the problem of spammer registrations. Before, with Akismet alone, I had at least 20 spammer registrations every day, and each one sent around 30 messages to the other members of my network. I'll let you imagine the disastrous consequences.

Since I installed Stop Spammers, I have at most one or two spammers per week. To be combined with Akismet.

 

Google reCaptcha

Another plugin to pair with the others. This is Google reCaptcha. Some themes offer it natively for all registration and comment forms, otherwise, you just need to download a WordPress extension, and create an API key directly with Google.

Google reCaptcha V2 will allow you to display a small “I am not a robot” wherever necessary. With version V3, you avoid classic anti-spam, and the protection system becomes invisible to the user.

 

WPS Hide Login

WPS Hide Login allows you to modify the URL of your login and registration page, so that only your bloggers know how to log in to your site, but not spammers. So you change /wp-login.php to the URL of your choice, and that’s it.

WPS Hide Login

This will provide an extra layer of protection against spammers. In addition, the extension was developed by the French from the excellent WP Server, which I had listed in the best hosts for WordPress !

 

Plugins for manual acceptance of new registrants

If you really want to avoid any fraudulent registrations on your site, especially on a social network under BuddyPress, I advise you to manually validate each registration.

WP Approve User

This very basic plugin allows you to validate or reject registrations under WordPress.

WP Approve User

 

BuddyPress Registration Options

This plugin, more advanced than the previous one, is adapted for BuddyPress.

BuddyPress Registration Options

 

Other known anti-spam extensions

For my part, I use the combo of extensions that I listed above on each blog. If you want to test other anti-spam solutions, here are the best known ones. Please note, some replace Akismet, and offer very advanced and paid features.

Antispam Bee

SecuPress Free — WordPress Security

Spam protection, AntiSpam, FireWall by CleanTalk

And you, what solutions have you found against spam? Don’t hesitate to share them in the comments!

 

My latest tweets

New shorts on Blooness 👉 Training dedicated to the best oilseeds for health is finally available in audio format https://buff.ly/3xo9fTS
https://buff.ly/43DkrYR

New shorts on Blooness 👉 If there was only one supplement to take, it would be magnesium (along with vitamin D). The complete guide to the best multivitamins on the market still available here with free access https://buff.ly/49bHqvp
https://buff.ly/49c3rKK

New shorts on Blooness 👉 The latest Blooness training on #proteins is available in audio format https://buff.ly/4aijbMW
https://buff.ly/3TP67cB

Load more

Don't miss business advice by email

No spam, just an email when new content is published.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEN

Comment venir à bout du SPAM sur WordPress

Hello à tous !

J’espère que vous allez bien 🙂 Je prends la peine d’écrire ce post afin de proposer mon combo idéal pour lutter contre le spam sur WordPress et BuddyPress.

En effet, le spam est l’un des fléaux du web, et particulièrement dans l’univers WordPress. Entre les inscriptions de spammeurs en cascade, les commentaires indésirables à foison, il y a vite de quoi devenir fou.

Cela est particulièrement vrai dans le cas des réseaux sociaux sous BuddyPress. Pour peu que vous vouliez quelque chose de moderne, où l’internaute peut s’inscrire et commencer à utiliser votre réseau social sans attendre votre approbation, votre site risque vite d’être envahi par les spammeurs.

Il n’existe malheureusement pas de solution miracle, mais je vais vous montrer quelles extensions j’utilise simultanément pour limiter la casse. Si vous avez d’autres pistes ou extensions à suggérer, n’hésitez pas à rebondir… dans les commentaires justement 🙂

La base : installer Akismet

Akismet, c’est la base de la base. C’est le plugin anti-spam le plus populaire, et une fois activé, il vous permettra de placer en indésirable automatiquement tous les commentaires de spammeurs.

Akismet Spam Protection

Le plugin est gratuit pour les sites non commerciaux. En revanche, il devient payant pour les sites à but lucratif. A ce titre, Akismet m’a déjà retiré l’accès API à certains de mes sites car il y avait des annonces publicitaires sur ces sites. Dans ce cas-là, ce que je vous conseille, c’est de passer à la caisse, car ce plugin est l’un des plus efficaces pour éviter d’être submergés de spams dans les commentaires.

En plus, il est intégré nativement à d’autres extensions populaires comme Gravity Forms, Jetpack et Contact Form 7.

 

Blacklist Updater : l’anti-spam maison à coupler avec les gros

Le concept de Blacklist Updater est complètement différent des autres plugins anti-spam. Ce plugin permet en fait de mettre à jour la fameuse liste noire des commentaires que l’on peut remplir manuellement dans la page des réglages « Discussions » de WordPress : wp-admin/options-discussion.php

Block List Updater

Du coup, au lieu de remplir vous même cette blacklist avec vos propres idées de mots bannis, le plugin Blacklist Updater s’occupe de tout en remplissant automatiquement tous les termes connus et moins connus qu’il vaut mieux blacklister car ils sont souvent utilisés par les spammeurs.

C’est un plugin à coupler avec les antispams automatiques et traditionnels comme Akismet.

 

Stop Spammers : la couche anti-spam ultime

Stop Spammer surveille et enregistre à la fois l’IP, l’email et l’identifiant des utilisateurs. Il se tourne vers StopForumSpam, Honeypot, Akismet et BotScout pour recouper les informations.

Stop Spammer repère également les anomalies telles que des adresses e-mail jetables ou encore l’absence d’une tête HTTP ACCEPT. De plus, Stop Spammer est capable de refuser des données post-formulaire qui manquerait en d’une tête HTTP REFERER, erreur que les spammeurs font régulièrement.

Stop Spammers Security | Block Spam Users, Comments, Forms

Sur l’un de mes sites fonctionnant sous BuddyPress, Stop Spammers a complètement réglé le problème des inscriptions de spammeurs. Avant, avec Akismet seul, j’avais au moins 20 inscriptions de spammeurs chaque jour, et chacun envoyait une trentaine de messages aux autres membres de mon réseau. Je vous laisse imaginer les conséquences désastreuses.

Depuis que j’ai installé Stop Spammers, j’ai tout au plus un ou deux spammeurs par semaine. A coupler avec Akismet.

 

Google reCaptcha

Encore un plugin à coupler avec les autres. Il s’agit de Google reCaptcha. Certains thèmes le proposent en natif pour tous les formulaires d’inscription et de commentaires, sinon, il vous suffit de télécharger une extension WordPress, et créer une clé API directement chez Google.

Google reCaptcha V2 vous permettra d’afficher un petit « Je ne suis pas un robot » partout où cela est nécessaire. Avec la version V3, vous évitez l’anti-spam classique, et le système de protection devient invisible pour l’utilisateur.

 

WPS Hide Login

WPS Hide Login permet de modifier l’URL de votre page de login et d’inscription, de façon à ce que seuls vos bloggueurs sachent comment se logguer à votre site, mais pas les spammeurs. Vous changer donc /wp-login.php par l’URL de votre choix, et le tour est joué.

WPS Hide Login

Cela constituera une couche supplémentaire de protection vis-à-vis des spammeurs. En plus, l’extension a été développée par les Français de chez l’excellent WP Serveur, que j’avais listé dans les meilleurs hébergeurs pour WordPress !

 

Les plugins d’acceptation manuelle des nouveaux inscrits

Si vous souhaitez vraiment éviter toute inscription frauduleuse sur votre site, a fortiori sur un réseau social sous BuddyPress, je vous conseille de valider manuellement chaque inscription.

WP Approve User

Ce plugin très sommaire permet de valider ou de rejeter les inscriptions sous WordPress.

WP Approve User

 

BuddyPress Registration Options

Ce plugin, plus abouti que le précédent, est adapté pour BuddyPress.

BuddyPress Registration Options

 

Les autres extensions anti-spam connues

Pour ma part, j’utilise le combo des extensions que j’ai listées ci-dessus sur chaque blog. Si vous souhaitez tester d’autres solutions anti-spam, voici celles qui sont les plus connues. Attention, certaines remplacent Akismet, et proposent des fonctionnalités très poussées et payantes.

Antispam Bee

SecuPress Free — WordPress Security

Spam protection, AntiSpam, FireWall by CleanTalk

Et vous, qu’avez-vous trouvé comme solutions contre le spam ? N’hésitez pas à les partager dans les commentaires !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.