Tulip Media

Entrepreneurial thoughts

Restaurants: ways to improve your profitability on Deliveroo, UberEATS and others!

You have a restaurant and you wonder how generate margins with delivery via business providers responsible for delivering your orders? Here are some video ideas that I had the opportunity to discuss for the site Coach My Restaurant !

Remember, A year ago, I listed the different delivery options available to restaurateurs since the boom in foodtech and delivery in France.

In addition to the issues related to profitability, I distinguished two types of business provider:

  • the Just Eat type marketplaces, whose job is to bring you customers, but which left you the task of delivering orders via your own fleet of delivery men, although now Just Eat offers the Stuart option to restaurants which do not have no delivery people;
  • marketplaces such as UberEATS and Deliveroo, which not only bring customers but also take care of delivery, although these players are slowly starting to test the subcontracting of the delivery part to restaurants that are capable of doing so and have the resources of fleets.

Coach My Restaurant asked me how we could limit losses, or even generate gains, with solutions where the commission is fixed. This is a question that a plethora of independent restaurateurs must ask themselves, given that they do not have the infrastructure to achieve economies of scale by delivering with their own delivery fleets. It's not Domino's Pizza who wants it!

So I mentioned a few ideas that seem relevant to me, however, if you have other ideas, don't hesitate to bounce back in the comments or by poking me on social networks! Here is the video summary of what you need to remember:

And here is the full interview:

Finally, here is a written best-of of the tracks mentioned:

Build your menus taking into account “unknown costs”

This concerns, among other things, the VAT collected on the sales price set on the delivery application, and not the VAT collected on what the delivery intermediary pays you. This point has already been addressed here.

 

Practice up-selling

Up-selling consists of offering complementary products to the products selected by your customer on UberEATS or Deliveroo.

It is therefore a good way to increase your average basket.

If, however, this greatly benefits intermediaries, who thus amortize their delivery costs, it is also a way for you to add products with low merchandise or labor costs (drink, sauce, supplements, etc.) in order to “catch up.” » the loss on the main course.

 

Remove products with high cost of goods or labor

If a product requires a lot of process in terms of production or assembly, and/or is relatively expensive in terms of goods, it is better to set it aside for delivery, so as not to delay your service and cause losses . If this product is essential to your menu, then put it at the real price, and sell it as such through very sharp marketing!

 

Avoid recruitment solely dedicated to delivery

Unless you have such a volume that you have been able to save on the supplier side, and on your assembly and cooking processes, it is better to avoid hiring just because you are no longer able to keep up with the pace of orders.

https://www.instagram.com/p/B2kAEtSIXY6/

First be sure that the delivery part is profitable in order to hire, and after hiring. Otherwise, it is better to rotate your menu so as to have higher prices, which will lead to a reduction in activity, but for a better profit, without adding labor.

Find a way not to add labor linked solely to sending orders, unless you find a way to reduce another position.

 

Create a tailor-made card for delivery

In order to justify certain prices, it is better to create formulas specifically for delivery, rather than repeating your menu individually. This is an opportunity to “gamify” your card.

 

Renegotiate with your suppliers

Having delivery volume is precisely the opportunity to renegotiate with your packaging and raw materials supplier. So don’t hesitate to turn to them, showing them your performance and your delivery sales objectives!

 

Launch virtual brands

Virtual brands are a good way to amortize your fixed costs, but you will have to be very organized in order to be able to manage several brands!

Meet on the Coach Mon Resto website to develop your skills as a super-restaurateur. Also find all the videos on their Youtube channel, and don't forget to subscribe.

 

My latest tweets

New shorts on Blooness 👉 Training dedicated to the best oilseeds for health is finally available in audio format https://buff.ly/3xo9fTS
https://buff.ly/43DkrYR

New shorts on Blooness 👉 If there was only one supplement to take, it would be magnesium (along with vitamin D). The complete guide to the best multivitamins on the market still available here with free access https://buff.ly/49bHqvp
https://buff.ly/49c3rKK

New shorts on Blooness 👉 The latest Blooness training on #proteins is available in audio format https://buff.ly/4aijbMW
https://buff.ly/3TP67cB

Load more

Don't miss business advice by email

No spam, just an email when new content is published.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEN

Restaurants : les pistes pour améliorer sa rentabilité sur Deliveroo, UberEATS et consorts !

Vous avez un restaurant et vous vous demandez comment générer des marges avec la livraison via les apporteurs d’affaires chargés de livrer vos commandes ? Voici en vidéo quelques pistes que j’ai eu l’occasion d’évoquer pour le site Coach Mon Resto !

Souvenez-vous, j’avais listé il y a un an les différentes options de livraison qui s’offrent aux restaurateurs depuis le boom de la foodtech et de la delivery en France.

Outre les problématiques liées à la rentabilité, j’avais distingué deux types d’apporteur d’affaires :

  • les places de marché type Just Eat, dont le job consiste à vous apporter des clients, mais qui vous laissaient le soin de livrer les commandes via votre propre flotte de livreurs, quoique désormais Just Eat propose l’option Stuart aux restos qui n’ont pas de livreurs ;
  • les places de marché type UberEATS et Deliveroo, qui non seulement apportent les clients mais s’occupe également de la livraison, quoique ces acteurs commencent tout doucement à tester la sous-traitance de la partie livraison aux restos qui en sont capables et qui sont dotés de flottes.

Coach Mon Resto m’a interrogé sur la façon dont on pourrait limiter les pertes, voire générer des gains, avec les solutions où la commission est fixe. C’est une question que pléthore de restaurateurs indépendants doivent se poser, étant donné qu’ils n’ont pas l’infrastructure pour réaliser des économies d’échelle en livrant avec leurs propres flottes de livreurs. N’est pas Domino’s Pizza qui veut !

J’ai donc évoqué quelques pistes qui me paraissent pertinentes, néanmoins, si vous avez d’autres idées, n’hésitez pas à rebondir dans les commentaires ou en me pokant sur les réseaux sociaux ! Voici le résumé de ce qu’il faut retenir en vidéo :

Et voici l’intégralité de l’interview :

Enfin, voici un best-of écrit des pistes évoquées :

Construire ses menus en prenant en compte les « coûts méconnus »

Il s’agit, entres autres, de la TVA collectée sur le prix de vente fixé sur l’application de livraison, et non pas la TVA collectée sur ce que l’intermédiaire de livraison vous reverse. Ce point avait déjà été abordé ici.

 

Pratiquer l’up-selling

L’up-selling consiste à proposer des produits complémentaires aux produits sélectionnés par votre client sur UberEATS ou Deliveroo.

C’est donc un bon moyen d’augmenter son panier moyen.

Si toutefois cela profite grandement aux intermédiaires, qui amortissent ainsi leur coût de livraison, c’est aussi un moyen pour vous d’ajouter des produits à faible coûts marchandises ou main d’oeuvre (boisson, sauce, suppléments…) afin de « rattraper » la perte sur le plat principal.

 

Retirer les produits au coût de marchandises ou de main d’oeuvre élevé

Si un produit vous demande beaucoup de process en termes de production ou d’assemblages, et/ou est relativement coûteux en termes de marchandises, il vaut mieux le mettre de côté pour la livraison, afin de ne pas retarder votre service et engendrer des pertes. Si ce produit est indispensable à votre carte, mettez-le alors au vrai prix, et vendez-le en tant que tel via un marketing bien acéré !

 

Évitez le recrutement uniquement dédié à la livraison

A moins d’avoir un tel volume que vous avez pu économiser sur la partie fournisseurs, et sur vos process d’assemblage et de cuisine, il vaut mieux éviter d’embaucher uniquement parce que vous ne parvenez plus à suivre la cadence des commandes.

https://www.instagram.com/p/B2kAEtSIXY6/

Soyez d’abord sûrs que la partie livraison est rentable afin d’embaucher, et après avoir embauché. Dans le cas contraire, il vaut mieux tourner son menu de façon à avoir des prix plus élevés, ce qui entraînera une diminution de l’activité, mais pour un meilleur profit, sans ajout de main d’oeuvre.

Trouver un moyen de ne pas faire d’ajout de main d’oeuvre lié uniquement à l’envoi de commandes, sauf à trouver un moyen de faire diminuer un autre poste.

 

Pratiquer une carte sur-mesure pour la livraison

Afin de justifier certains prix, il vaut mieux créer des formules spécialement pour la livraison, plutôt que de reprendre son menu à l’unité. C’est ainsi l’occasion de « gamifier » sa carte.

 

Renégocier avec ses fournisseurs

Avoir du volume en livraison, c’est justement l’occasion de renégocier avec son fournisseur de packaging et de matières premières. N’hésitez donc pas à vous tourner vers eux, en leur montrant vos performances et vos objectifs de ventes en livraison !

 

Lancer des marques virtuelles

Les marques virtuelles sont un bon moyen d’amortir ses frais fixes, mais il faudra être sacrément organisé afin de pouvoir gérer plusieurs enseignes !

RDV sur le site Coach Mon Resto pour développer vos compétences de super-restaurateur. Retrouvez également toutes les vidéos sur leur chaîne Youtube, et n’oubliez pas de vous y abonner.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.