Tulip Media

Entrepreneurial thoughts

Credit insurance in 7 questions

You have good relationships with your suppliers. Despite tense negotiations on prices, they were always flexible on payment terms and allowed you to give your cash flow breathing room when it needed it. Until one day your partner calls you and demands cash on delivery, which has never happened before. When you ask him why, he explains that you are no longer covered by credit insurance. You had never heard of it until then.

What is credit insurance?

Credit insurers are establishments which offer their policyholders the possibility of protecting themselves against the risk of non-payment by their own customers. This service is only aimed at companies operating in B2B.

The three market leaders are Euler-Hermes (formerly SFAC), Coface (formerly a French state holding) and Atradius. These are the three actors with whom you may interact.

They are remunerated by insurance premiums which are calculated according to their client's insurable turnover. Their main performance indicator is the claims-to-premium ratio, with claims being compensation paid on unpaid commercial debts.

How it works ?

Credit insurers are establishments which offer their policyholders the possibility of protecting themselves against the risk of non-payment by their own customers. This service is only aimed at companies operating in B2B.

The three market leaders are Euler-Hermes (formerly SFAC), Coface (formerly a French state holding) and Atradius. These are the three actors with whom you may interact.

They are remunerated by insurance premiums which are calculated according to their client's insurable turnover. Their main performance indicator is the claims-to-premium ratio, with claims being compensation paid on unpaid commercial debts.

Why should I care when I'm not a customer?

Your suppliers, if insured, most likely have a credit limit on your business. They will tend to be flexible on payment terms when coverage is complete, and more restrictive and rigid on deadlines and the level of outstanding debt in the event of limited coverage. A refusal or insufficient coverage could even – in extreme cases – lead them to stop working with you. Everything will depend on the relationship of trust that you have been able to establish and the guarantees of financial solidity that you can give them.

Can I find out what credit insurers think about my business?

While you have no contractual link with them, credit insurers have a capital importance in the management of your WCR, and therefore on the flexibility of your cash flow. Except in exceptional cases, you will not be able to know the details of their exposure to your company (in other words a list of suppliers with the outstanding amount granted to each of them) but you can consult your quote on their website. It will give you an idea of the overall outstanding amount that they are prepared to insure.

At first glance, credit insurers have the position of great judges who are invisible to you but whose decisions weigh heavily on your supplier credit. Let us now study the decision-making process.

Who at the credit insurer decides on my supplier credit?

Each credit insurer has its own operation but all have a risk department whose analysts (or arbitrators) make decisions on credit files. Their role is therefore to arbitrate between the commercial risk (not satisfying the insured) and the risk of non-payment. by controlling the establishment's commitments to a buyer.

You may be contacted by an analyst when the institution's exposure to your file exceeds a certain threshold. You will generally be asked for your financial statements and your quantified outlook. The more risky your situation is considered by the analyst, the more meticulous he will be in his search for information.

What should I do when a credit insurer contacts me for information about my business?

We know that it is not easy to open up and give information about your business to a person who was previously unknown to us. We would be tempted not to cooperate or to be vague in our speech, but you should know that analysts tend to be harsh in the event of a lack of information or if the elements obtained are not clear enough. It is better to be open and frank in discussions with the credit analyst, without revealing all his little secrets.

Is a restrictive decision final?

This profession is somewhat paradoxical: claims are necessary to justify the usefulness of the product; an insurer who never compensates its policyholders only fulfills its role half-heartedly.

The account managers of these establishments know this only too well and will not procrastinate before putting pressure on an analyst to grant coverage to a strategic policyholder. A loss will be experienced as a lesser evil for this type of key insured as long as they remain satisfied with the services and renew their contract.

If you are refused, you should not wait before sending information to your supplier to try to tip the balance in your favor. Whether this supplier is a key insured or not, customer satisfaction is an aspiration for any establishment.

Let's finish in a few words

Credit insurance proves to be a brake or accelerator for the development of business flows between two commercial partners. We'll look in more detail in future articles on how you, as a buyer, can lead them to make positive decisions for your business.

Illustrative photo.

 

My latest tweets

New shorts on Blooness 👉 Training dedicated to the best oilseeds for health is finally available in audio format https://buff.ly/3xo9fTS
https://buff.ly/43DkrYR

New shorts on Blooness 👉 If there was only one supplement to take, it would be magnesium (along with vitamin D). The complete guide to the best multivitamins on the market still available here with free access https://buff.ly/49bHqvp
https://buff.ly/49c3rKK

New shorts on Blooness 👉 The latest Blooness training on #proteins is available in audio format https://buff.ly/4aijbMW
https://buff.ly/3TP67cB

Load more

Don't miss business advice by email

No spam, just an email when new content is published.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEN

L’assurance crédit en 7 questions

Vous avez de bonnes relations avec vos fournisseurs. Malgré des négociations tendues sur les prix, ils ont toujours été souples sur les délais de paiement et vous ont permis de laisser votre trésorerie respirer quand elle en avait besoin. Jusqu’au jour où votre partenaire vous appelle et exige un paiement à la livraison, ce qui ne s’était jamais produit auparavant. Lorsque vous lui demandez pourquoi, il vous explique que vous n’êtes plus couvert par l’assurance crédit. Vous n’en aviez jamais entendu parler jusque là.

Qu’est-ce que l’assurance-crédit ?

Les assureurs-crédit sont des établissements qui offrent la possibilité à leurs assurés de se protéger contre le risque d’impayé de leurs propres clients. Ce service ne s’adresse qu’aux entreprises fonctionnant en B2B.

Les trois leaders du marché sont Euler-Hermes (anciennement SFAC), la Coface (anciennement une participation de l’Etat français) et Atradius. Il s’agit là des trois acteurs avec lesquels vous pouvez être amenés à échanger.

Ils se rémunèrent par des primes d’assurance qui sont calculées en fonction du Chiffre d’Affaire assurable de leur client. Leur indicateur de performance principal est le ratio de sinistres sur primes, les sinistres étant les indemnisations versées sur les créances commerciales impayées.

Comment ça fonctionne ?

Les assureurs-crédit sont des établissements qui offrent la possibilité à leurs assurés de se protéger contre le risque d’impayé de leurs propres clients. Ce service ne s’adresse qu’aux entreprises fonctionnant en B2B.

Les trois leaders du marché sont Euler-Hermes (anciennement SFAC), la Coface (anciennement une participation de l’Etat français) et Atradius. Il s’agit là des trois acteurs avec lesquels vous pouvez être amenés à échanger.

Ils se rémunèrent par des primes d’assurance qui sont calculées en fonction du Chiffre d’Affaire assurable de leur client. Leur indicateur de performance principal est le ratio de sinistres sur primes, les sinistres étant les indemnisations versées sur les créances commerciales impayées.

Pourquoi dois-je m’en soucier alors que je n’en suis pas client ?

Vos fournisseurs s’ils sont assurés ont très probablement une limite de crédit sur votre entreprise. Ils auront tendance à être souples sur les conditions de paiement lorsque la couverture est complète, et plus restrictifs et rigides sur les délais et le niveau de l’encours en cas de couverture limitée. Un refus ou une couverture insuffisante pourrait cas même – cas extrême –  les conduire à cesser de travailler avec vous. Tout dépendra de la relation de confiance que vous avez su établir et des gages  de solidité financière que vous pouvez leur donner.

Puis-je connaitre l’avis des assureurs crédits sur mon entreprise ?

Alors que vous n’avez aucun lien contractuel avec eux, les assureurs crédits ont une importance capitale dans la gestion de votre BFR, et donc sur la souplesse de votre trésorerie. Vous ne pourrez sauf exception connaitre le détail de leur exposition sur votre entreprise (autrement dit une liste de fournisseurs avec l’encours accordé à chacun d’eux) mais il vous est possible de consulter votre cotation leur site Internet. Elle vous donnera une idée de l’encours global qu’ils sont prêts à assurer.

A première lecture les assureurs crédits ont une position de grands juges qui vous sont invisibles mais dont les décisions pèsent lourdement sur votre crédit fournisseur.  Etudions maintenant le processus de décision.

Qui chez l’assureur-crédit décide de mon crédit fournisseur ?

Chaque assureur crédit a son propre fonctionnement mais tous sont dotés d’un service des risques dont les analystes (ou arbitres), prennent les décisions sur les dossiers de crédits. Leur rôle est donc d’arbitrer entre le risque commercial (ne pas satisfaire l’assuré) et le risque d’impayé en contrôlant les engagements de l’établissement sur un acheteur.

Vous pourriez être contacté par un analyste lorsque l’exposition de l’établissement sur votre dossier dépassera un certain seuil. On vous demandera en général vos états financiers et vos perspectives chiffrées. Plus votre situation sera estimée risquée par l’analyste plus il sera méticuleux dans sa recherche d’informations.

Que faire lorsqu’un assureur crédit me contacte pour des informations sur mon entreprise?

Nous savons qu’il n’est pas facile de se livrer et de donner des informations sur son entreprise à une personne qui nous était inconnue jusque là. On serait tenté de ne pas coopérer ou d’être flou dans notre discours, mais il faut savoir que les analystes ont tendance à être sévère en cas d’absence d’information ou si les éléments obtenus ne sont pas assez clairs. Mieux vaut être ouvert et franc dans les échanges avec l’analyste crédit, sans non plus dévoiler tous ses petits secrets.

Une décision restrictive est-elle définitive ?

Ce métier est quelque peu paradoxal : les sinistres sont nécessaires pour justifier de l’utilité du produit, un assureur qui n’indemnise jamais ses assurés ne remplit son rôle qu’à moitié.

Les chargés d’affaire de ces établissements ne le savent que trop bien et ne tergiverseront pas avant de mettre la pression à un analyste pour accorder sa couverture à un assuré stratégique. Un sinistre sera vécu comme un moindre mal pour ce type d’assuré clé tant qu’il reste satisfait des services et renouvelle son contrat.

En situation de refus il ne vous faut donc pas attendre avant de transmettre des éléments à votre fournisseur pour essayer de faire pencher la balance en votre faveur. Que ce fournisseur soit un assuré clé ou non, la satisfaction client est une aspiration chez tout établissement.

Finissons en quelques mots

L’assurance crédit se révèle être un frein ou accélérateur du développement du courant d’affaires entre deux partenaires commerciaux. Nous verrons plus en détail dans de prochains articles comment vous pouvez, en tant qu’acheteur, les amener à prendre des décisions positives pour votre entreprise.

Photo d’illustration.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.