Tulip Media

Entrepreneurial thoughts

Bank credit: understanding the bank to better convince it

Among the possible financing levers, we obviously find the bank credit. However, we often find ourselves taken aback when we make a request for financing from your bank.

We do not necessarily grasp this rate sold by the customer service representative even though the establishment across the street is cheaper. We also don't understand why the agency is making us wait sometimes more than a month for a credit that seems easy to grant.

And even less why our file is ultimately denied although in our eyes he had all the qualities to be accepted.

The causes of these inconveniences lie in the very nature of the banking profession and what it is becoming.

How does a bank work, what is its interest, and how are its activities regulated? This is what we will see below, in this introduction to the banking profession and more precisely to its credit activity. Let's go !

 

Definition: what is a bank?

Let us briefly recall what a bank is:

A bank is a financial institution to whom approval has been given to make money from his business. And this in a very regulated and being the subject regular adjustment.

How does a bank make money?

The intermediation margin

The classic operation of a commercial bank is very simple: the deposits placed there by its customers at a certain rate, are lent at a higher rate to other customers in the form of credits. We call the gap between these two rates intermediation margin and it constitutes the income basis of a bank.

What are other ways for a bank to make money?

For establishments of this size to earn their living, the only account maintenance fees and interest on credits turn out to be well insufficient. This is why the services that banks offer you have multiplied in recent years: online management, insurance, wealth advice, professional guarantees, etc. Services that generate commissions.

Finally, we cannot put aside the activities of banks in financial markets and investment.

The sacrosanct PNB

A banking establishment is not that different from your business, and achieving a certain level of profitability is one of its primary objectives. And like everywhere, the crux of the matter is turnover or rather GNP (Net Banking Product).

Its two main components are, as we have just seen just before, the intermediation margin and commissions. [Or 75% of the GNP of the six major French banking groups in 2018].

You must not forget that your account manager knows inside out the GNP that you bring to him ; and its related business objectives, its approach towards you depends on it.

Unfortunately this GNP is not information that will be communicated to you but you can estimate it by doing the following calculation: [commissions paid + agios + interest on credits – (interest received + reversals)].

 

 

Money creation

The first mission of banking establishments is to grant credits, an activity that makes them first creators of money. [Scriptural money, created by writing on bank accounts, represents 90% of the currency in circulation – source Banque de France]. This is a major responsibility in an economy where everything is moving faster and faster.

An institution is therefore responsible for frame and of control their activity. You regularly hear about it, it is the European Central Bank, more frequently called ECB.

 

ECB rates

The ECB plans European monetary policy and therefore the volume of money creation. It is also the one that issues banking licenses and then controls the banks through frequent audits. Today we will focus on a monetary policy lever with considerable effects.

Key rates and you

Key rates are the means by which the ECB acts on monetary creation. The reference rate used by banks is EURIBOR, this is the one that appears on your loan contracts, and unlike your credit rate, it is currently negative!

As we have seen, credits are marketed at a certain rate or rather at a certain price. And the price, the credit is very elastic, which means that:

  • low key rates encourage monetary creation through credit to businesses and individuals;
  • high key rates lead to the opposite.

For about a decade we have been on a cycle of key rates tending downward. This explains your booklet A capitalized at 0.75%, the influx of real estate loans or even your cash loan at 1% over 5 years. This is the first direct consequence of ECB policies on your daily life. But it doesn't stop there...

Low rates? The banks don't like it.

It's paradoxical, isn't it? Shouldn't banks welcome an environment that favors credit? And their GNP ready to explode?

Except that the market is pulled into a price race to the bottom. The intermediation margin suffers and sees its share in the banks' GNP reduced compared to that of commissions..

A reality is emerging: the digital shift and zero key rates have contributed to weakening banks which are no longer profitable enough in their historical activities and must change their economic model.

Agencies close, staff numbers are reduced and their offering is gradually moving out of the strictly banking field. Our relationship with the bank has indeed completely changed over the last 10 years, and this train is still moving.

In summary: credits easily granted, but banks in bad shape

It may never have been so simple to obtain credit in France but the banks are not doing any better. The reduction in the intermediation margin is currently leading to two strategies on the part of banks:

  • pay more and more credits to maintain their GNP;
  • find opportunities to diversify this GNP.

“Make credit” an expression you will hear in every bank branch. But let's not forget that we are talking about a profession here risk. How do the authorities ensure that banks do not overdo it and are able to withstand shocks?

 

The Basel Accords

We can never say it enough, banks are above all private companies who are entrusted with an activity to systemic risk. Different crises have taken their toll and institutions have reacted accordingly, new rules have emerged to regulate finance, and among them, the Basel agreements which aim to strengthen the stability of banks.

Without going into details, let's focus on one point: to carry out its activity, a bank must be solid, which materializes in a certain level of Equity.

A bank's balance sheet essentially consists of:

  • credits in assets
  • to the liabilities of deposits, bonds and Equity, which include capital and accumulated results (or reserves).

The Equity Funds are the guarantors of the stability of the bank and keep it afloat, they serve shock absorbers in the event of default by debtors. More trivially, Equity guarantees that your funds are under safe custody.

Equity funds are strategic but what will concern you is elsewhere…

 

The RWA? It's what ?

We like to repeat to ourselves: credit is a risky activity. The regulation also requires that the level of Equity be in adequacy with the level of risk incurred on credits.

The key point of this regulation is the ratio of Equity relative to risk: Regulatory Equity / Risk Weighed Asset. This ratio is expected by the latest agreements at 10.5%.

The calculation of RWA in the denominator was updated in 2017. The principle is clear: the riskier an asset, the greater the RWAt. This therefore means that banks need less capital to cover exposures to safe assets, and more capital to cover riskier exposures. And by granting credit, what the management of a bank does not want is to explode the impact of the RWA on its Equity requirements and therefore ask its shareholders to inject capital.

The RWA and you

At the heart of credit risk estimation is the customer rating which is based on: the company's balance sheet, its sector of activity and an evaluation of the account manager. The RWA depends directly on this rating.

Photo : https://pixabay.com/fr/photos/travail-bourreau-de-travail-%C3%A9crivain-1627703/

What does that change for you?  It's like GNP. Your account manager has in mind your rating in each of your interactions. It has tools that will determine the pricing allowing financing to be “profitable” in relation to Basel regulations.

We often speak of a "calculator", it integrates all the parameters of the price offer: the rate, the administration fees, the flow pricing and leaves the possibility to the account manager to juggle between them, which he does not deprive himself of. not by negotiating with you. Generally, the lower your rating, the higher the financing rate will be.

Also, the rating of your company is a confidential information that is not communicated to you despite its impact on the pricing of your services and decision-making regarding your requests. This rating is reviewed at least once a year without you taking part in this decisive process.

Interests are therefore conflicting within a bank faced with the temptation of credit in a framework which is becoming more restrictive. One management plays the role of arbiter, it is that of risks.

 

What does the risk department do?

The risk department is in charge of compliance with banking regulationse and draws up a risk policy for this purpose. She is on the front line facing institutions and their audits.

Internally, its objective is to limit provisions on unpaid credits, it will therefore tend to slow down sales management.

The “risks” therefore put in place a delegation scheme which will determine who can or cannot decide on a credit file. The most important criteria are:

  • The nature of the credit (in other words the quality of its guarantee)
  • The amount and duration of financing
  • The rating of the counterparty

The objective is to remove files that exceed a certain risk threshold from the decision-making field of the commercial network. The pricing of the file is generally not taken into account in this framework. A file leaving the agency will be decided individually or collectively during a credit committee.

Source Photo : https://pixabay.com/fr/photos/skyline-gratte-ciel-b%C3%A2timent-1925943/

By moving on to risks, the analysis of your credit file will be more factual, the decision-makers of your file will have an initial idea of it by its risk rating and your Bank of France quotation.

The good relationship maintained with your interlocutor will weigh less in the balance, especially since the headquarters are often far from the agencies. A extended decision time is then to be expected.

You should also know that in the event of disagreement with sales management, it is the risks that generally have the last word.

What to remember if your file goes to risk?

A first idea would be to anticipate with your contact whether the file is in their delegation or that of headquarters in case you urgently need financing.

  • “The clearer the file, the simpler the decision will be” Be clear in your request and provide from the start the explanations and elements that you feel necessary
  • A file that moves to risk is not necessarily a bad sign. It is even better for your file to become known to headquarters when your financial situation is good than the opposite.. An analyst who discovers a company's record when it is in trouble will be more severe.

Conclusion

So what are the challenges facing a bank today? Maximize your GNP in controlling your risk and in respecting the regulations in an economic environment constrained by rates.

An ideal client would have a good risk rating, A long-term debt contracted at a high rate and would pay a commission level higher than interest. But the reality is often different, and bringing together all these conditions is not easy.

Let's say that by making a loan, a banking establishment will try to combine these elements as best as possible. The factors which will decide whether your credit application is accepted are therefore as follows:

  • The involvement of your account manager and his determination to carry out the financing
  • There risk rating of your company
  • The pricing and especially the expected rate at a level covering the risk
  • The delegation of the financing file in agency or at headquarters.

And that's it, that's it for the bank. If you have any questions or clarifications, don't hesitate to comment in the comments! We’ll see you again very soon for new articles 🙂

 

My latest tweets

New shorts on Blooness 👉 Training dedicated to the best oilseeds for health is finally available in audio format https://buff.ly/3xo9fTS
https://buff.ly/43DkrYR

New shorts on Blooness 👉 If there was only one supplement to take, it would be magnesium (along with vitamin D). The complete guide to the best multivitamins on the market still available here with free access https://buff.ly/49bHqvp
https://buff.ly/49c3rKK

New shorts on Blooness 👉 The latest Blooness training on #proteins is available in audio format https://buff.ly/4aijbMW
https://buff.ly/3TP67cB

Load more

Don't miss business advice by email

No spam, just an email when new content is published.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEN

Crédit bancaire : comprendre la banque pour mieux la convaincre

Parmi les leviers possibles de financement, on trouve évidemment le crédit bancaire. Or, on se retrouve souvent décontenancé lorsqu’on fait une demande de financement à sa banque.

On ne saisit pas forcément ce taux vendu par le chargé de clientèle alors que l’établissement d’en face est moins cher. On ne comprend pas non plus pourquoi l’agence nous fait patienter parfois plus d’un mois pour un crédit qui nous semble simple à accorder comme bonjour.

Et encore moins pourquoi notre dossier est au final refusé alors qu’il avait à nos yeux toutes les qualités pour être accepté.

Les causes de ces désagréments se nichent dans la nature même du métier bancaire et ce qu’il est en train de devenir.

Comment fonctionne une banque, quel est son intérêt, et comment ses activités sont régulées ? C’est ce que nous allons voir ci-après, dans cette introduction au métier bancaire et plus précisément à son activité de crédit. C’est parti !

 

Définition : qu’est-ce qu’une banque ?

Rappelons succinctement ce qu’est une banque :

Une banque est un établissement financier auquel l’agrément a été donné pour faire de l’argent son commerce. Et ce dans un cadre très règlementé et faisant l’objet d’ajustement réguliers.

Comment une banque gagne de l’argent ?

La marge d’intermédiation

Le fonctionnement classique d’une banque commerciale est des plus simples : les dépôts qui y sont placés par ses clients à un certain taux, sont prêtés à un taux plus élevé à d’autres clients sous forme de crédits. On appelle l’écart entre ces deux taux la marge d’intermédiation et elle constitue la base des revenus d’une banque.

Quels sont les autres façons pour une banque de gagner de l’argent ?

Pour que des établissements de cette taille gagnent leur vie, les seuls frais de tenue de compte et les intérêts sur les crédits s’avèrent être bien insuffisants. C’est pourquoi les services que les banques vous proposent se sont multipliés ces dernières années : gestion en ligne, assurances, conseil patrimonial, garanties professionnelles etc. Des prestations qui génèrent des commissions.

Enfin, nous ne pouvons mettre de côté les activités des banques sur les marchés financiers et l’investissement.

Le sacro-saint PNB

Un établissement bancaire n’est pas si différent de votre entreprise, et atteindre un certain niveau de rentabilité fait partie de ses premiers objectifs. Et comme partout, le nerf de la guerre, c’est le Chiffre d’Affaires ou plutôt le PNB (Produit Net Bancaire).

Ses deux principales composantes sont, comme nous venons de le voir juste avant, la marge d’intermédiation et les commissions. [Soit 75% du PNB des six grands groupes bancaires français en 2018].

Vous ne devez pas oublier que votre chargé de clientèle connait sur le bout des doigts le PNB que vous lui rapportez ; et ses objectifs commerciaux s’y rapportant, son approche à votre égard en dépend.

Malheureusement ce PNB n’est pas une information qui vous sera communiquée mais vous pouvez l’estimer en faisant le calcul suivant : [commissions payées + agios + intérêts sur crédits – (intérêts reçus + extournes)].

 

 

La création monétaire

La première mission des établissements bancaires est d’accorder des crédits, une activité qui fait d’eux les premiers créateurs de monnaie. [La monnaie scripturale, créée par jeu d’écriture sur les comptes bancaires, représente 90% de la monnaie en circulation – source Banque de France]. C’est une responsabilité majeure dans une économie où tout va de plus en plus vite.

Une institution est donc chargée de les encadrer et de contrôler leur activité. Vous en entendez régulièrement parler, c’est la Banque Centrale Européenne, plus fréquemment appelée BCE.

 

Les taux de la BCE

La BCE planifie la politique monétaire européenne et donc le volume de création monétaire. C’est aussi elle qui délivre les agréments bancaires puis contrôle les banques par des audits fréquents. Nous allons aujourd’hui nous focaliser sur un levier de politique monétaire aux effets considérables.

Les taux directeurs et vous

Les taux directeurs sont le moyen par lequel la BCE agit sur la création monétaire. Le taux de référence utilisé par les banques est l’EURIBOR, c’est celui qui figure sur vos contrats de prêts, et contrairement au taux de votre crédit, il est actuellement négatif !

Nous l’avons vu, les crédits sont commercialisés à un certain taux ou plutôt à un certain prix. Et le prix, le crédit y est très élastique, ce qui signifie que :

  • des taux directeurs bas encouragent la création monétaire par les crédits aux entreprises et aux particuliers ;
  • des taux directeurs élevés entrainent le contraire.

Nous sommes depuis environ une décennie sur un cycle de taux directeurs qui tendent vers le bas. Ceci explique votre livret A capitalisé à 0.75%, l’afflux de crédits immobiliers ou encore votre prêt de trésorerie à 1% sur 5 ans. C’est la première conséquence directe des politiques de la BCE sur votre quotidien. Mais ça ne s’arrête pas là…

Les taux bas ? Les banques n’aiment pas.

C’est paradoxal non ? Les banques ne devraient-elles pas se réjouir d’un environnement qui favorise le crédit ? Et leur PNB prêt à exploser les sommets ?

Sauf que le marché est tiré dans une course aux prix vers le bas. La marge d’intermédiation en souffre et voit sa part dans le PNB des banques se réduire par rapport à celle des commissions.

Une réalité se dessine : le virage du numérique et les taux directeur à zéro ont contribué à fragiliser des banques qui ne sont plus assez rentables sur leurs activité historiques et doivent changer leur modèle économique.

Les agences ferment, les effectifs se réduisent et leur offre sort peu à peu du champ strictement bancaire. Notre relation avec la banque a en effet complètement changé ces 10 dernières années, et ce train est toujours en marche.

En résumé : des crédits facilement accordés, mais des banques qui vont mal

Il n’a peut-être jamais été aussi simple d’obtenir un crédit en France mais les banques ne s’en portent pas mieux. L’amenuisement de la marge d’intermédiation entraîne en ce moment deux stratégies de la part des banques :

  • verser de plus en plus de crédits pour maintenir leur PNB ;
  • trouver des opportunités pour diversifier ce PNB.

« Faire du crédit » une expression que vous entendrez dans toutes les agences bancaires. Mais n’oublions pas qu’on parle ici d’un métier risqué. Comment les autorités s’assurent-elle alors que les banques n’en font pas trop et sont en capacité d’encaisser les chocs ?

 

Les accords de Bâle

Nous ne le dirons jamais assez, les banques sont avant tout des entreprises privées qui se voient confier une activité au risque systémique. Différentes crises ont fait leurs œuvres et les institutions ont réagi en conséquence, de nouvelles règles ont émergé pour réguler la finance, et parmi elles, les accords de Bâle qui visent à renforcer la stabilité des banques.

Sans entrer dans les détails, focalisons-nous sur un point : pour exercer son activité, une banque doit être solide, ce qui se matérialise par un certain niveau de Fonds Propres.

Le bilan d’une banque est pour l’essentiel constitué :

  • des crédits à l’actif
  • au passif des dépôts, des obligations et des Fonds Propres, lesquels comprennent le capital et les résultats accumulés (ou réserves).

Les Fonds Propres sont les garants de la stabilité de la banque et la maintiennent à flot, ils servent d’amortisseurs en cas de défaut de paiement de débiteurs. Plus trivialement, les Fonds Propres garantissent que vos deniers sont sous bonne garde.

Les Fond Propres sont stratégiques mais ce qui va vous concerner est ailleurs…

 

Le RWA ? C’est quoi ?

Nous aimons nous répéter : le crédit est une activité risquée. La règlementation exige également que le niveau de Fonds Propres soit en adéquation avec le niveau de risque encouru sur les crédits.

Le point clef de cette régulation est le ratio de Fonds Propres rapporté au risque : Fonds Propres règlementaires / Actif Pondéré par les risques (Risk Weighed Asset). Ce ratio est attendu par les derniers accords à 10,5%.

Le calcul des RWA au dénominateur a été mis à jour en 2017. Le principe est limpide : plus un actif est risqué plus le RWA est important. Ce qui signifie donc que les banques ont besoin de moins de fonds propres pour couvrir les expositions à des actifs sûrs, et de davantage de fonds propres pour couvrir les expositions plus risquées. Et en accordant un crédit, ce que la direction d’une banque ne souhaite surtout pas, c’est faire exploser l’impact du RWA sur ses exigences en Fonds Propres et par conséquent demander à ses actionnaires d’injecter du capital.

Le RWA et vous

Au centre de l’estimation du risque d’un crédit figure la notation du client qui se base sur : le bilan de l’entreprise, son secteur d’activité et une évaluation du chargé de clientèle. Le RWA dépend directement de cette note.

Photo : https://pixabay.com/fr/photos/travail-bourreau-de-travail-%C3%A9crivain-1627703/

Ce que ça change pour vous ?  C’est comme le PNB. Votre chargé de clientèle a en tête votre notation à chacune de vos interactions. Il dispose d’outils qui détermineront la tarification permettant à un financement d’être « rentable » par rapport à la règlementation bâloise.

On parle souvent de « calculatrice », elle intègre tous les paramètres de l’offre tarifaire : le taux, les frais de dossier, la tarification des flux et laisse la possibilité au chargé de clientèle de jongler entre eux, ce dont il ne se prive pas en négociant avec vous. De manière générale, moins votre note est bonne plus le taux de financement sera élevé.

Également, la notation de votre entreprise est une information confidentielle qui ne vous est pas communiquée malgré son impact sur la tarification de vos services et la prise de décision quant à vos demandes. Cette note est revue au moins une fois par an sans que vous preniez part à ce processus déterminant.

Les intérêts sont donc conflictuels au sein d’une banque face à la tentation du crédit dans un cadre qui devient plus contraignant. Une direction joue le rôle d’arbitre, c’est celle des risques.

 

Que fait la direction des risques ?

La direction des risques est en charge du respect de la règlementation bancaire et rédige une politique de risque à cette fin. Elle est en première ligne face aux institutions et leurs audits.

En interne, son objectif est de limiter les provisions sur les crédits impayés, elle aura donc tendance à freiner la direction commerciale.

Les « risques » mettent donc en place un schéma de délégation qui déterminera qui peut ou non décider un dossier de crédit. Les critères les plus importants sont les suivants :

  • La nature du crédit (autrement dit la qualité de sa garantie)
  • Le montant et la durée du financement
  • La notation de la contrepartie

L’objectif est de sortir les dossiers qui dépassent un certain seuil de risque du champ de décision du réseau commercial. La tarification du dossier ne rentre en général pas en compte dans ce cadre. Un dossier en sortant de l’agence sera décidé individuellement soit collégialement lors d’un comité de crédit.

Source Photo : https://pixabay.com/fr/photos/skyline-gratte-ciel-b%C3%A2timent-1925943/

En passant aux risques, l’analyse de votre dossier de crédit sera plus factuelle, les décideurs de votre dossier s’en feront une première idée par sa notation risque et votre cotation Banque de France.

Les bons rapports entretenus avec votre interlocuteur pèseront moins dans la balance, d’autant plus que les sièges sont souvent éloignés des agences. Un délai de décision allongé est alors à prévoir.

Il faut aussi savoir qu’en cas de désaccord avec la direction commerciale, ce sont les risques qui ont le dernier mot en général.

Que retenir si votre dossier passe au risque ?

Une première idée serait d’anticiper avec votre interlocuteur si le dossier est dans sa délégation ou celle du siège au cas où vous avez urgemment besoin du financement.

  • « Plus le dossier est clair, plus simple sera la décision » Soyez limpides dans votre demande et apportez dès le départ les explications et éléments que vous sentez nécessaires
  • Un dossier qui passe aux risques n’est pas forcément un mauvais signe. Il est même préférable que votre dossier devienne connu du siège quand votre situation financière est bonne que le contraire. Un analyste qui découvre le dossier d’une entreprise quand elle bat de l’aile sera plus sévère.

Conclusion

Quels sont donc les enjeux d’une banque aujourd’hui ? Maximiser son PNB en maitrisant son risque et en respectant les règlementations dans un environnement économique contraint par les taux.

Un client idéal aurait une bonne notation risque, un endettement à long terme contracté à un taux élevé et verserait un niveau de commission supérieur aux intérêts. Mais la réalité est souvent autre, et réunir toutes ces conditions n’est pas chose aisée.

Disons qu’en réalisant un crédit, un établissement bancaire essaiera de conjuguer au mieux ces éléments. Les facteurs qui décideront de l’acceptation de votre demande de crédit sont donc les suivants :

  • L’implication de votre chargé de clientèle et sa détermination à réaliser le financement
  • La notation risque de votre entreprise
  • La tarification et surtout le taux attendu à un niveau couvrant le risque
  • La délégation du dossier de financement en agence ou au siège.

Et voilà, c’est tout pour la banque. Si vous avez des questions, ou des précisions à apporter, n’hésitez pas à rebondir dans les commentaires ! On se retrouve très bientôt pour de nouveaux articles 🙂

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.