Tulip Media

Entrepreneurial thoughts

10 changes in management and recruitment

We are experiencing a period of transition in the world of work, marked by the advent of web 2.0 and collaborative information systems. Consequently, the avenues mentioned below can be useful to you whether for recruiting or being recruited, but also for managing your career, entrepreneurship, imagining new solutions for your colleagues or simply understanding the world around you.

Note: This chapter initially published on February 2, 2012 and republished in 2023 is the 1st in a series of course on Management 2.0, the summary of which can be found here.

1. Salaried employment tends towards collaboration

Formerly marked by obedience and the vertical hierarchy, management tends to move towards a form of transversal collaboration where the desired value is the added value, skill, talent and expertise, preferentially over presenteeism. We are moving towards the obligation of results, to the detriment of the obligation of means.

From then on, the employee is encouraged to take initiatives, manage their tasks, demonstrate autonomy and take responsibility.

This type of management is therefore not very suitable for profiles who need to have a structured path to follow: creativity, imagination and autonomy are now increasingly sought-after values. This is demonstrated by web-based companies, which favor an extremely specific organization, marked by a very short hierarchy and an extraordinary number of subordinates per manager.

The two major advantages of this type of organization are the following:

Innovation can come from anywhere. The hierarchy should not block creativity, but rather process all the ideas that come back to it.
– Clusters and working groups make it possible to create a collective and shared intelligence (which brings us to the cloud and synchronization of stored data).

2. Tools for personal use that inspire the professional world

In the past, professional tools made available in the world of work were subsequently reinvented for personal uses, such as the computer or messaging for example. Today, the trend has been profoundly reversed: social networks focused on entertainment have, for example, inspired business social networks. Personal Twitter accounts and Facebook profiles have pushed companies to create professional profiles for external communication.

In short, many concepts initially aimed at consumers are taken up by companies for internal or communication use. So stay alert!

3. Organization, storage and recruitment are dematerialized

The example of recruitment by Skype, mentioned by the founder of the startup Work4labs at the conference, shows the way to the largest companies. Globalization, geographic distance and the use of the Internet and information systems are leading international companies to better connect their employees, wherever they are on the planet.

I also think of schools which will now teach by video, and which I hope will make it possible to provide knowledge at lower costs, particularly for those whose access to it is difficult.

4. More and more grafted concepts

The web has allowed many businesses to start with an already existing concept and build on it. In the same way that a shopping street generates activity because complementary businesses or even competitors are all located there next to each other, the Internet makes it possible to create centers from complementary concepts to each other.

Recruitment through Facebook, or even online games on Facebook or partnerships with Spotify, but also the exploitation of CMS such as WordPress or Prestashop for commercial purposes (via the sale of add-ons, themes, advice or simply through their use), are examples among others of these so-called grafted concepts.

In other words, creativity calls for creativity, and there are at least as many concepts to create as there are already existing concepts, from which we can exist and develop.

5. The world of work tends to be more flexible and more uncertain

The counterpart of the first point mentioned and which concerned the erasure of discipline for the benefit of transversality, lies in an “acceptance” by employees of a more uncertain universe, and an adaptability more marked. In other words, in a world where everything moves much faster, employees are increasingly faced with the unexpected (change of position for example).

Consequently, the problem that this type of management raises is that it is not at all adapted to the French Labor Code, which advocates long careers, and the CDI as a standard contract. The whole difficulty will be knowing what mode of management we want for the future, between changing careers, rich but uncertain, or more rigid tasks but protected employment.

6. Some information is less valuable than before

In a context of an internal social network, mutual help forums on the Internet and the use of open-source code, collaboration has made it possible to create competitiveness and economic activity from sharing. The implicit contract is as follows: whether internally or online, we share our knowledge because it benefits everyone, like Adam Smith's invisible hand.

Consequence of this new ecosystem: information – or rather certain information – has less value than before. It is therefore less expensive for a consulting company, and makes it possible to negotiate a lower position for a manager who until now provided the missing knowledge and information.

7. The function of the manager evolves towards that of coach

As a direct consequence of point 6 mentioned previously, the job of manager is being rethought, in order to make it evolve into that of consultant or coach. He then has a broader vision than before, which leads him to tend towards a profile ofintrapreneur. Not to mention the future development of trainers, who will be able to practice their profession online, like a sort of coach.

8. Anonymity practically no longer exists

In the context of a job search, the law prohibits the recruiter from carrying out research on candidates who apply by consulting their personal profiles on networks such as Facebook. In practice, no one is there to check whether the law is applied. Therefore, it is very easy for recruiters, and more generally for anyone, to find information about people's private lives by Googling their names.

Recent slip-ups and lawsuits relating to this issue have led Internet users to further restrict their personal profiles, but what about all the traces left before and which are sometimes difficult to remove?

Furthermore, the almost dictatorial policy of social networks forces their members to reveal their true identity in public to the detriment of the use of pseudonyms, in order to limit slippage (and probably because a real name sells better...), which further reduces the boundary between private life and professional/public life.

9. Managing your digital identity becomes a real work of art

As a result of the previous point, it has now become essential to monitor your online profiles. Gone are the days when we filled out a nickname and an email to exchange on the forums. Today, our e-reputation is managed like a small business. Personal branding leads Internet users to carefully fill in the information they wish to share with the world, starting with studies, internships, skills, previous employers, tastes, etc.

LinkedIn and other social networks lead some people to manage their network and their digital image like a real business, integrating notions of strategy and communication in order to sell themselves.

10. Networking, always networking

As a direct result of the previous point, network and influence have become the new values that carry weight. Where before, the possession of information constituted a major competitive advantage (which brought us to the theory of agency), today, the number of followers, subscribers, friends, fans, etc. … constitute a new value in terms of credibility and weight. Strange world, isn't it?

Conclusion

It is clear that some of the points raised raise questions moral issues and ethics on what we want to do with tomorrow's society. Indeed, the right to secrecy is visibly flouted, which can lead us to wonder if we are not tending towards a “feeling of invisible omniscience” similar to that of the panopticon Michel Foucault style.

Furthermore, building professional credibility solely on the number of “followers” can constitute a deviation on many levels; we have already seen ill-intentioned gurus have hordes of “faithful” people under their wings.

However, we must still recognize the existence of these mutations, which is the aim of this article, in order to learn to negotiate them with composure and intelligence.

Chapter 2: The 10 questions to ask yourself to develop your digital strategy »

« Return to summary

 

My latest tweets

New shorts on Blooness 👉 Loss of #weight, gain of #muscle, #health and #longevity, the ultimate guide on optimal #protein intake in a Mediterranean diet is online. See you at https://buff.ly/3R6Se8N
https://buff.ly/3uzTtnR

Updated Post: Dior and the John Galliano scandal: a textbook case in crisis communications https://buff.ly/3SQQHo8

Load more

Don't miss business advice by email

No spam, just an email when new content is published.

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEN

10 mutations du management et du recrutement

De retour de l’excellente conférence de clôture du forum Paris 1 Entreprises 2012 à la Sorbonne, voici un petit listing non exhaustif des mutations actuelles que nous vivons dans le monde du travail et du recrutement, inspiré bien évidemment des débats qui se sont tenus lors de la conférence.

En effet, nous vivons une période de transition dans le monde du travail, marquée par l’avènement du web 2.0 et des systèmes d’information collaboratifs. Par conséquent, les pistes évoquées ci-après peuvent vous être utiles que ce soit pour recruter ou se faire recruter, mais aussi pour gérer votre carrière, imaginer de nouvelles solutions pour vos collaborateurs ou simplement comprendre le monde qui vous entoure.

[info]Note : Ce chapitre est le 1er d’une série de cours sur le Management 2.0, dont le sommaire se trouve ici.[/info]

1. Le salariat tend vers le collaboratif

Autrefois marqué par l’obéissance et la hiérarchie verticale, le management tend à muer vers une forme de collaboration transversale où la valeur recherchée est la valeur ajoutée, la compétence, le talent et l’expertise, préférentiellement au présentéisme. Nous allons vers l’obligation de résultats, au détriment de l’obligation de moyens.

Dès lors, le salarié est amené à prendre des initiatives, gérer ses tâches, faire preuve d’autonomie et prendre des responsabilités.

Ce type de management n’est donc pas très adapté aux profils qui ont besoin d’avoir un chemin quadrillé à suivre : désormais la créativité, l’imagination et l’autonomie sont des valeurs de plus en plus recherchées. En témoignent les entreprises issues du web, qui privilégient une organisation extrêmement particulière, marquée par une ligne de hiérarchie très courte et un nombre de subordonnés par manager hors-normes.

Organisation de la Recherche et Développement chez Google
Organisation de la R&D chez Google

Les deux avantages majeurs de ce genre d’organisations sont les suivants :

L’innovation peut venir de n’importe où. La hiérarchie ne doit PAS bloquer la créativité, mais plutôt traiter toutes les idées qui lui remontent.
– Les clusters et groupes de travail permettent de créer une intelligence collective et partagée (ce qui nous amène au cloud computing et à la synchronisation des données stockées).

;

2. Les outils à usage personnel qui inspirent le monde professionnel

Jadis, les outils professionnels mis à disposition dans le monde du travail étaient par la suite réinventés pour des usages personnels, tels que l’ordinateur ou la messagerie par exemple. Aujourd’hui, la tendance s’est profondément inversée : les réseaux sociaux axés sur le divertissement ont par exemple inspiré les réseaux sociaux d’entreprises. Les comptes Twitter et profils Facebook personnels ont poussé les entreprises à créer des profils professionnels pour la communication externe.

Bref, beaucoup de concepts visant au départ les consommateurs sont repris par les entreprises pour un usage interne ou de communication. Restez donc alertes !

;

3. L’organisation, le stockage et le recrutement sont dématérialisés

L’exemple du recrutement par Skype, évoqué par le fondateur de la startup Work4labs lors de la conférence, montre la voie aux plus grandes entreprises. La mondialisation, l’éloignement géographique et l’utilisation d’Internet, des TIC et des SI amènent les entreprises internationales à connecter davantage leurs collaborateurs, où qu’ils soient sur la planète.

Je pense également aux écoles par Skype, qui je l’espère permettront d’apporter la connaissance à moindres coûts, notamment pour ceux dont l’accès y est difficile.

;

4. De plus en plus de concepts greffés

Le web a permis à beaucoup d’entreprises de démarrer sur un concept déjà existant, et à s’y greffer. De la même façon qu’une rue commerçante génère de l’activité du fait que des commerces complémentaires ou même des concurrents s’y placent tous les uns à côté des autres, Internet permet de créer des pôles à partir de concepts complémentaires les uns aux autres.

Le recrutement par Facebook, évoqué lors de la conférence par Work4labs, ou encore les jeux en ligne sur Facebook ou les partenariats avec Spotify, mais également l’exploitation de CMS comme WordPress ou Prestashop à des fins commerciales (via la vente d’add-ons, de thèmes, de conseils ou simplement via leur utilisation), sont des exemples parmi d’autres de ces concepts dits greffés.

En d’autres termes, la créativité appelle la créativité, et il y a au moins autant de concepts à créer que de concepts existants déjà, à partir desquels on peut exister et se développer.

;

5. Le monde du travail tend à être plus flexible, et plus incertain

La contrepartie du premier point évoqué et qui concernait l’effacement de la discipline au bénéfice de la transversalité, réside en une « acceptation » par le salariat d’un univers plus incertain, et une adaptabilité plus marquée. Autrement dit, dans un monde où tout va beaucoup plus vite, le collaborateur est de plus en plus amené à être confronté à l’imprévu (changement de poste par exemple).

Par conséquent, le problème que ce genre de management soulève est qu’il n’est pas du tout adapté au Code du travail français, qui prône les carrières longues, et le CDI comme contrat standard. Toute la difficulté sera de savoir quel mode de management nous voulons pour l’avenir, entre des carrières changeantes, riches mais incertaines, ou bien des tâches plus rigides mais un emploi protégé.

;

6. Certaines informations ont moins de valeur qu’avant

Dans un contexte de réseau social interne, de forums d’entraide sur Internet et d’utilisation de code open-source, la collaboration a permis de créer de la compétitivité et de l’activité économique à partir du partage. Le contrat implicite est le suivant : que ce soit en interne ou sur le net, nous partageons nos connaissances car cela profite à tous, telle la main invisible d’Adam Smith.

Conséquence de ce nouvel écosystème : l’information – ou plutôt une certaine information – a une moindre valeur qu’avant. Elle se monnaie donc moins cher pour une entreprise de conseil, et permet de négocier un poste moins élevé pour un manager qui jusqu’alors apportait la connaissance et les informations manquantes.

;

7. La fonction du manager évolue vers celle de coach

Conséquence directe du point 6 évoqué précédemment, le métier de manager est en train d’être repensé, afin de le faire évoluer faire celui de consultant ou de coach. Il a alors une vision plus large qu’avant, ce qui l’amène à tendre vers un profil d’intrapreneur.

;

8. L’anonymat n’existe pratiquement plus

Dans le cadre de la recherche d’emploi, le droit interdit au recruteur d’effectuer des recherches sur les candidats qui postulent en consultant leurs profils personnels sur des réseaux comme Facebook. En pratique, personne n’est là pour vérifier si la loi est appliquée. Par conséquent, il est très facile pour les recruteurs, et plus généralement pour n’importe qui, de trouver des informations sur la vie privée des gens en googlant leurs noms.

Les récents dérapages et procès relatifs à cette problématique ont amené les internautes à brider davantage leurs profils personnels, mais qu’en est-il de toutes les traces laissées avant et qui sont parfois difficilement supprimables ?

Par ailleurs, la politique quasi dictatoriale des réseaux sociaux obligent leurs membres à décliner leur véritable identité en public au détriment de l’utilisation de pseudos, afin de justement limiter les dérapages (et probablement parce qu’un vrai nom se revend mieux…), ce qui réduit davantage la frontière entre vie privée et vie professionnelle / publique.

;

9. Gérer son identité numérique devient un vrai travail d’orfèvre

Il est loin le temps où on remplissait un pseudo et un mail pour échanger sur les forums. Aujourd’hui, notre e-réputation se gère comme un petit business. Le personal branding, tel qu’il est appelé par les gens du web, amènent les internautes à remplir minutieusement les informations qu’ils souhaitent partager avec le monde, à commencer par les études, les stages, les compétences, employeurs précédents, goûts, etc…

LinkedIn, Viadeo, Doyoubuzz, Facebook, Twitter et bien d’autres sites du genre amènent certaines personnes à gérer leur réseau et leur image numérique comme une vraie entreprise, en intégrant des notions de stratégie et de communication afin de se vendre.

;

10. Le réseautage, toujours le réseautage

Résultants directement du point précédent, le réseau et l’influence sont devenus les nouvelles valeurs qui pèsent. Là où avant, la détention d’informations constituait un avantage concurrentiel majeur (ce qui nous a amené à la théorie de l’agence), aujourd’hui, le nombre de followers, d’abonnés, d’amis, de fans, etc… constituent une nouvelle valeur en terme de crédibilité et de poids. Monde étrange, n’est-ce pas ?

;

Conclusion

Force est de constater que certains des points évoqués soulèvent des questions d’ordre moral et éthique sur ce que nous voulons faire de la société de demain. En effet, le droit au secret est visiblement bafoué, ce qui peut nous amener à nous demander si l’on ne tend pas vers un « sentiment d’omniscience invisible » pareil à celui du panoptique façon Michel Foucault. En outre, bâtir une crédibilité professionnelle sur son seul nombre de « followers » peut constituer une dérive à bien des niveaux ; on a déjà vu des gourous mal intentionnés avoir sous leurs ailes des hordes de « fidèles ».

Néanmoins, il faut tout de même reconnaître ces mutations, ce qui est le but du présent article, afin d’apprendre à les négocier avec sang-froid et intelligence.

[notice]Chapitre 2 : Les 10 questions à se poser pour élaborer sa stratégie digitale »[/notice][success]« Revenir au sommaire[/success]

2 réponses

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.