Tulip Media

Entrepreneurial thoughts

WPML, the plugin that helps you create a multilingual WordPress site

Need to create multilingual content to reach different targets around the world?

WPML is a WordPress plugin that allows you to translate your web content into several languages. Particularly appreciated by professionals, this plugin boasts of being the most complete and stable of multilingual extensions. Budget-wise, you will need between 29 $ and 159 $. Is the game worth it?

Why choose the WPML plugin?

Particularly appreciated on WordPress, WPML is to date the most used plugin for create a multilingual site. Having benefited from several improvements since it was put on sale, it has now become a more stable plugin, offering very interesting features.

WPML is a complete solution that allows you to translate pages, custom types, posts, menus, taxonomy or even theme texts. It also allows you to directly translate character strings in the Back Office.

Thanks to this plugin, you have the possibility to hide a language temporarily. It also makes it easy to add content in a new language. Moreover, WPML offers a choice of original language of the translation chain to be able to adapt the translations subsequently. Added to this is full compatibility with most WordPress themes.

This is currently the extension we use to offer this blog in English.

How does WPML work?

To help you translate your site into several languages, WPML creates a copy of the content to translate to then attach it to an identifier. Thanks to a perfectly ergonomic and very intuitive user interface, even a novice can quickly understand how it works.

WPML has several add-ons that make it even more powerful:

  1. WPML Media

This module allows the management of images or any other type of media separately for each translation language. It also makes it easy to create a copy of media from one language to another, provided that the media in question does not require any specific translation. Simply install this plugin and synchronize media between translations to find multiple media in each language.

  1. WPML String Translation

Thanks to this module, it becomes easier to translate texts in the theme, in the back office and in other WordPress plugins.

  1. WPML Translation Management

It is a translation assistance tool for WordPress sites. Thanks to this add-on, site administrators become great translators, capable of modifying content assigned to translation. They access a complete overview of a previous or next translation, or even future updates.

 

They have permission to send content to be translated to professional translators online and track its progress. They access a screen split in two on which the original content and the translation to be done are displayed simultaneously. Much like the default WordPress editor allows, they can easily move between fields, and switch between HTML and regular views.

Additionally, automatic link updating allows translators to translate only the text without touching other content.

  1. WPML Sticky Links

This module prevents internal links from breaking.

  1. WooCommerce Multilingual

This module allows you to easily translate e-commerce sites using WooCommerce. The products sold are therefore translated and visitors can place orders in their own language.

This add-on facilitates centralized management to translate custom product tags, categories, and attributes. It automatically synchronizes the variations and images produced. It allows you to keep the same language throughout the entire ordering process. It allows you to send emails to customers and site administrators or track stocks in a defined language. Additionally, it makes it easy to manage multiple currencies with a single WooCommerce.

 

WPML for whom?

The plugin editor WPML offers 3 licenses to its users:

  • Multilingual Blog License

Offered at 39 $/year, this license allows you to translate publications, pages and personalized types. It also includes the translation of category and custom taxonomy tags, as well as the translation of WordPress menus. With this license, the user benefits from standard translation controls and browser language detection. It offers a 12-month performance guarantee, with unlimited words and languages. This license concerns a single website and allows you to benefit from a free update and support for one year. You need 21 $/year for automatic license renewal.

  • Multilingual CMS license

Accessible at 99 $/year, it is the ideal license for all developers who wish to create a multilingual site under WordPress. It is more complete and offers more advantages than the multilingual blog license. With this license, the user benefits from assistance with page development. It also benefits from custom field translation, multilingual e-commerce support as well as widget translation. This license also allows you to benefit from text translation in the admin of themes and plug-ins. It allows the management of attachments in different languages, as well as the management of translation by several users. In addition to manual translations, this license offers automatic translation of 2000 words between all language pairs, every month. This license allows you to register 3 websites, with annual renewal possible from 59 $.

  • Lifetime multilingual CMS license

For 199 $, WPML allows developers to benefit from the full functionality of WPML on WordPress, for an unlimited number of websites. The annual renewal amounts to 119 $.

 

Verdict?

WPML's main competitor is WeGlot. The two have completely different operations:

  • WPML is heavier, but it allows you to completely internalize the translation within your WordPress site. He is the historical actor in translation. If you want a safe bet, opt for WPML.
  • Weglot is the underdog, but it has incredible ease of use. Here, no internalization, you don't have to do anything, everything is automatic, by inserting a tag on your site, then you can translate each sentence manually afterwards. But be careful, if you automate everything, you lose quality in terms of translation.

If you want to do work specific to 100% for a site that cannot afford to offer automatic translations, and which really wants to keep control over what is translated or not, opt for WPML.

Otherwise, Weglot will do ! We personally use both solutions depending on each context, and we are totally satisfied with them!


WordPress multilingue

 

My latest tweets

New shorts on Blooness 👉 Training dedicated to the best oilseeds for health is finally available in audio format https://buff.ly/3xo9fTS
https://buff.ly/43DkrYR

New shorts on Blooness 👉 If there was only one supplement to take, it would be magnesium (along with vitamin D). The complete guide to the best multivitamins on the market still available here with free access https://buff.ly/49bHqvp
https://buff.ly/49c3rKK

New shorts on Blooness 👉 The latest Blooness training on #proteins is available in audio format https://buff.ly/4aijbMW
https://buff.ly/3TP67cB

Load more

Don't miss business advice by email

No spam, just an email when new content is published.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEN

WPML, le plugin qui vous aide à créer un site WordPress multilingue

Besoin de créer des contenus multilingues pour atteindre différentes cibles à travers le monde ?

WPML est un plugin WordPress qui vous permet de traduire vos contenus web en plusieurs langues. Particulièrement apprécié des professionnels, ce plugin se vante d’être le plus complet et le plus stable des extensions multilingues. Niveau budget, il faudra compter entre 29 $ et 159 $. Le jeu en vaut-il la chandelle ?

Pourquoi choisir le plugin WPML ?

Particulièrement apprécié sur WordPress, WPML est à ce jour le plugin le plus utilisé pour créer un site multilingue. Ayant bénéficié de plusieurs améliorations depuis sa mise en vente, il est aujourd’hui devenu un plugin plus stable, proposant des features très intéressantes.

WPML est une solution complète qui vous permet de traduire des pages, des types personnalisés, des publications, des menus, de la taxonomie ou encore des textes de thème. Il permet également de traduire directement des chaines de caractère dans le Back Office.

Grâce à ce plugin, vous avez la possibilité de cacher une langue de manière temporaire. Il facilite également l’ajout de contenu dans une nouvelle langue. De plus, WPML offre un choix de langue d’origine de la chaîne de traduction pour pouvoir adapter les traductions par la suite. A cela s’ajoute une entière compatibilité avec la plupart des thèmes WordPress.

C’est actuellement l’extension que nous utilisons pour proposer ce blog en langue anglaise.

Comment fonctionne WPML ?

Pour vous aider à traduire votre site en plusieurs langues, WPML crée une copie du contenu à traduire pour l’attacher ensuite à un identifiant. Grâce à une interface utilisateur parfaitement ergonomique et très intuitive, même un novice peut rapidement en comprendre le fonctionnement.

WPML compte plusieurs modules complémentaires qui le rendent encore plus puissant :

  1. WPML Media

Ce module permet la gestion des images ou de tout autre type de média de manière distincte pour chaque langue de traduction. Il permet également de créer facilement une copie des médias d’une langue à une autre, à condition que le média en question ne requière aucune traduction spécifique. Il suffit d’installer ce plugin et de faire une synchronisation des médias entre les traductions, pour retrouver plusieurs médias sur chaque langue.

  1. WPML String Translation

Grâce à ce module, il devient plus facile de traduire des textes dans le thème, dans le back office et dans d’autres plugins de WordPress.

  1. WPML Translation Management

C’est un outil d’aide à la traduction pour les sites WordPress. Grâce à cet add-on, les administrateurs du site deviennent de grands traducteurs, capables de modifier un contenu assigné à la traduction. Ils accèdent à un aperçu complet d’une précédente ou d’une prochaine traduction, voire les mises à jour à venir.

Ils ont la permission d’envoyer du contenu à traduire à des traducteurs professionnels en ligne et en suivre l’évolution. Ils accèdent à un écran scindé en deux sur lequel le contenu original et la traduction à faire s’affichent en simultané. De la même façon que l’éditeur par défaut de WordPress l’autorise, ils peuvent facilement passer d’un champ à l’autre, et passer entre les vues HTML et ordinaire.

De plus, une mise à jour automatique des liens permet aux traducteurs de traduire uniquement le texte sans toucher à d’autres contenus.

  1. WPML Sticky Links

Ce module empêche les liens internes de se briser.

  1. WooCommerce Multilingual

Ce module permet de traduire facilement des sites e-commerce utilisant WooCommerce. Les produits vendus sont donc traduits et les visiteurs peuvent passer des commandes dans leur propre langue.

Cet add-on facilite la gestion centralisée pour traduire les balises, les catégories et les attributs personnalisés des produits. Il synchronise automatiquement les variations et les images produites. Il permet de conserver la même langue à travers tout le processus de commande. Il permet d’envoyer des mails aux clients et administrateurs du site ou suivre des stocks dans une langue définie. De plus, il facilite la gestion de plusieurs devises avec un seul WooCommerce.

 

WPML pour qui ?

L’éditeur du plugin WPML propose 3 licences à ses utilisateurs :

  • Licence Blog multilingue

Proposée à 29 $/an, cette licence permet de traduire des publications, pages et types personnalisés. Elle inclut également la traduction de balises catégories et taxonomie personnalisée, ainsi que la traduction des menus de WordPress. Avec cette licence, l’utilisateur bénéficie des commandes de traduction standard et d’une détection de la langue du navigateur. Elle offre une garantie de performances de 12 mois, avec un nombre illimité de mots et de langues. Cette licence concerne un site web unique et permet de profiter d’une mise à jour et d’une assistance gratuite pendant un an. Il faut compter 21 $/an pour un renouvellement automatique de la licence.

  • Licence CMS multilingue

Accessible à 79 $/an, c’est la licence idéale pour tous les développeurs qui souhaitent créer un site multilingue sous WordPress. Elle est plus complète et propose plus d’avantages que la licence blog multilingue. Avec cette licence, l’utilisateur bénéficie d’une assistance en matière de développement de pages. Il profite également d’une traduction de champs personnalisés, d’une prise en charge multilingue du commerce électronique ainsi que d’une traduction des widgets. Cette licence permet également de profiter d’une traduction de textes dans l’admin des thèmes et des plug-ins. Elle autorise la gestion des pièces jointes dans différentes langues, ainsi que la gestion de la traduction par plusieurs utilisateurs. Outre les traductions manuelles, cette licence propose une traduction automatique de 2000 mots entre toutes les paires de langues, chaque mois. Cette licence permet d’enregistrer 3 sites web, avec un renouvellement annuel possible à partir de 59 $.

  • Licence CMS multilingue à vie

Pour 159 $, WPML permet aux développeurs de bénéficier des fonctionnalités complètes de WPML sur WordPress, pour un nombre illimité de sites web. Le renouvellement annuel s’élève à 119 $.

 

Verdict ?

Le principal concurrent de WPML, c’est WeGlot. Les deux ont des fonctionnements totalement différents :

  • WPML est plus lourd, mais il vous permet d’internaliser complètement la traduction au sein de votre site WordPress. C’est l’acteur historique de la traduction. Si vous souhaitez une valeur sûre, optez pour WPML.
  • Weglot est l’outsider, mais il a une simplicité d’utilisation incroyable. Ici, pas d’internalisation, vous n’avez rien à faire, tout est automatique, via l’insertion d’un tag sur votre site, puis vous pouvez traduire chaque phrase manuellement par la suite. Mais attention, à tout automatiser, vous perdez en qualité en termes de traduction.

Si vous souhaitez faire un travail propre à 100% pour un site qui ne peut pas se permettre de proposer des traductions automatiques, et qui souhaite vraiment garder la main sur ce qui est traduit ou pas, optez pour WPML.

Sinon, Weglot fera l’affaire ! Nous utilisons personnellement les deux solutions en fonction de chaque contexte, et nous en sommes totalement satisfaits !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.