Tulip Media

Entrepreneurial thoughts

Liborgate: towards one scandal too many for the banks?

Have you ever heard of “liborgate” ? Not yet ? It would be time to get up to date because it is financial scandal who will occupy the banks throughout the summer and even after... I advise you to take advantage of your vacation, if you are lucky enough to have one, because in my humble opinion, there are some who will have a painful awakening!

Libor of the cliff!

First of all, I would like to apologize for this play on words which is really very bad, even for me... Then, for those who are not fans of financial markets, I simply remind you that the Libor is a British index indicating in real time the rate at which the banks affiliated with it (almost all…) lend to each other. Please believe me when I tell you that this is one of the main benchmark indices in Europe and around the world. Suddenly, doubting its credibility seemed almost as incongruous as asserting that the Earth is flat…I use the imperfect tense because it seems that this is no longer entirely true.

Indeed, some banks would have skillfully manipulated their prices to suggest that everything was going very well and that the banking sector was not giving in to panic. You'll probably think it's not a big deal. However, even putting aside the totally illegal aspect of these operations, the “liborgate” could have damaged the flagships of the European financial industry, at the forefront of which was the very venerable and respectable British bank Barclays, by whom the scandal happened. Even more serious, the smart guys who had managed, without much difficulty, to manipulate the British interbank rate had the idea of doing the same with Euribor, its European counterpart.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3mvKwIp5s0

Among the banks cited by the specialized media, notably the very serious Financial Times, include of course the British Barclays And HSBC, but also UBS, there Deutsche Bank and two French banks which are the Agricultural credit and the Societe Generale which is definitely in all the “good moves”… That being said, don’t make me say what I didn’t say, all the banks I just mentioned are not officially involved and the French scream, to anyone who will believe them, that they absolutely did not take part in financial operations aimed at manipulating prices. That being said, I will not be particularly surprised if the list were to grow as maintaining interbank rates at fanciful levels has been profitable for all banks without exception!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=FR&v=VZC4jZwcirE

One scandal too many?

Far be it from me to act cynical, or to suggest that I am completely disillusioned, but I have the vague impression that financiers never learn anything! How can we imagine that such manipulation would occur after the subprime crisis and other toxic products of all kinds, or even the Kerviel affair and the more recent one of Thames Whale » ? Weren't the banks better regulated? Hadn't we said that capitalism would be “moralized”? Obviously, no…

Even if this story will undoubtedly be less harmful than that of “subprimes”, it risks having repercussions on the financial sector as a whole. And then, we must admit that this new affair brings together some of the subjects which exasperate the most when we talk about finance, whether arrogance, greed or manifest incompetence of regulatory systems. Indeed, how can we not underline the conceit of the now ex-director of Barclays, Bob Diamond, who probably thought that the “diamonds are forever” and that there was nothing wrong with requiring its employees to handle the Libor since in any case no one would be able to understand... Bad luck, his little schemes ended up being seen and neither the resignation of the president of the bank, Marcus Agius, nor the abandonment of his comfortable bonus were enough to calm public opinion.

Greed is also very present because, as Christophe Nijdam, analyst at Alphavalue, on the La Tribune website, “Underestimating Libor by two small basis points allowed some banks to make a lot of money on rate swaps”. However, what in my opinion is the most serious in this matter, it's the slowness of the regulation systems. Why did it take so long for this scandal to emerge, even though the authorities had known about it for a long time? So, if we believe the New York Times, an employee of the Barclays allegedly warned the Federal Reserve Bank of New York of embezzlement in April 2008. But nothing was done…

In conclusion, we can only hope that this scandal which will splash all of the banks does not do too much damage and above all that, for once, regulators take stock of events and put in place measures to change things. Of course, this last hope is more wishful thinking than anything else…

 

My latest tweets

New shorts on Blooness 👉 Relaunch libido, in bulk -> Sun, vitamin D, keto-Mediterranean diet, proteins, books, banter, walking, HIIT, and no hypocalorie diet.
https://buff.ly/445PWvc

New shorts on Blooness 👉 Improve your sleep -> expose yourself to light in the morning, limit sunglasses, wet your shirt during sports, drink decaf, eat maximum 3 hours before sleeping, take a digestive walk and take some melaton
https://buff.ly/440weAJ

Load more

Don't miss business advice by email

No spam, just an email when new content is published.

10 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEN

Liborgate : vers le scandale de trop pour les banques ?

Avez-vous déjà entendu parler du « liborgate » ? Pas encore ? Il serait temps de vous mettre à la page car c’est le scandale financier qui va occuper les banques pendant tout l’été et même après… Je vous conseille de bien profiter de vos vacances, si vous avez la chance d’en avoir, car à mon humble avis, il y en a qui vont avoir un réveil pénible !

Libor de la falaise !

Je tiens tout d’abord à m’excuser pour ce jeu de mots qui est vraiment très mauvais, même pour moi… Ensuite, pour ceux qui ne seraient pas des adeptes des marchés financiers, je rappelle simplement que le Libor est un indice britannique indiquant en temps réel le taux auquel les banques qui y sont affiliées (quasiment toutes…) se prêtent entre elles. Je vous prie de me croire quand je vous dis que c’est l’un des principaux indices de référence en Europe et dans le monde entier. Du coup, douter de sa crédibilité paraissait presque aussi incongru que d’affirmer que la Terre est plate… J’utilise l’imparfait car il semblerait que ce ne soit plus tout à fait vrai.

En effet, certaines banques auraient habilement manipulé leur cours pour laisser penser que tout allait très bien et que le secteur bancaire ne cédait pas à la panique. Vous allez sans doute penser que ce n’est pas grand-chose. Pourtant, même en mettant de coté l’aspect totalement illégal de ces opérations, le « liborgate » aurait pu mettre à mal des fleurons de l’industrie financière européenne, au premier rang desquels ont trouve la très vénérable et respectable banque britannique Barclays, par qui le scandale est arrivé. Plus grave encore, les petits malins qui étaient parvenus, sans grandes difficultés, à manipuler le taux interbancaire britannique ont eu l’idée de faire de même avec l’Euribor, son pendant européen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3mvKwIp5s0

Parmi les banques citées par les medias spécialisés, notamment le très sérieux Financial Times, figurent bien entendu les britanniques Barclays et HSBC, mais aussi UBS, la Deutsche Bank et deux banques française que sont le Crédit Agricole et la Société Générale qui est décidément dans tous les « bons coups »… Ceci étant, ne me faites pas dire ce que je n’ai pas dit, toutes les banques que je viens de citer ne sont pas officiellement impliquées et les françaises hurlent, à qui veut bien les croire, qu’elles n’ont absolument pas pris part à des opérations financières visant à manipuler des cours. Ceci étant dit, je ne serai pas particulièrement étonné si la liste devait s’allonger tant le maintien des taux interbancaires à des niveaux fantaisistes a été profitable à toutes les banques sans exception !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=FR&v=VZC4jZwcirE

Le scandale de trop ?

Loin de moi l’envie de jouer les cyniques, ou de laisser à croire que je suis complètement désabusé, mais j’ai la vague impression que les financiers n’apprennent jamais rien ! Comment peut-on imaginer qu’une telle manipulation se produise après la crise des subprimes et autres produits toxiques en tous genres, ou encore l’affaire Kerviel et celle plus récente de la « Baleine de la Tamise » ? Les banques n’étaient-elles pas mieux régulées ? N’avait-on pas dit que le capitalisme serait « moralisé » ? Visiblement, non…

Même si cette histoire sera sans doute moins néfaste que celle des « subprimes », elle risque d’avoir des répercussions sur le secteur financier dans son ensemble. Et puis, il faut bien admettre que cette nouvelle affaire regroupe quelques uns des sujets qui exaspèrent le plus lorsque l’on parle de finance, que ce soit l’arrogance, la cupidité ou l’incompétence manifeste des systèmes de régulation. En effet, comment ne pas souligner la fatuité du désormais ex-directeur de Barclays, Bob Diamond, qui pensait sans doute que les « diamants sont éternels » et qu’il n’y avait aucun mal à exiger de ses employés qu’ils manipulent le Libor puisque de toute façon personne ne serait en mesure de comprendre… Manque de chance, ses petites combines ont fini par se voir et ni la démission du président de la banque, Marcus Agius, ni l’abandon de son confortable bonus n’ont suffi à calmer l’opinion publique.

La cupidité est également bien présente car, comme le rappelle Christophe Nijdam, analyste chez Alphavalue, sur le site de La Tribune, « sous-estimer le Libor de deux petits points de base a permis à certaines banques de gagner beaucoup d’argent sur les swaps de taux ». Cependant, ce qui est à mon sens le plus grave dans cette affaire, c’est la lenteur des systèmes de régulation. Pourquoi a-t-il fallu tant de temps pour que ce scandale éclate, alors que les autorités étaient depuis longtemps au courant ? Ainsi, si l’on en croit le New York Times, un employé de la Barclays aurait averti la Federal Reserve Bank of New York de malversations en avril 2008. Mais rien n’a été fait…

En conclusion, on ne peut qu’espérer que ce scandale qui va éclabousser l’ensemble des banques ne fasse pas trop de dégâts et surtout que, pour une fois, les régulateurs prennent la mesure des évènements et mettent en place des mesures pour que cela change. Bien sûr, ce dernier espoir tient plus du vœu pieux que d’autre chose…

10 réponses

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.